Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts

Friday, November 30, 2018

Leather Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co. Reviewed

Leather Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co. Reviewed
For years I have been using the Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co.  It is, by far, the best planner calendar that I have ever owned and I do love the leather cover.  I used to buy a different color each year as a way to differentiate between the years at a glance on my shelves.  However, for the last 2 years I have purchased the burgundy.  I just love the deep wine color.  I plan to order the navy this year.  I need to get back to using a different color per year.    Or, perhaps I'll opt for green in the hopes that it will represent strong earnings for the year.

I am reviewing the Gallery Leather Co. Professional Planner today simply because I want the opportunity to point out the fabulous features of this calendar.  I admit, I take them for granted now.  One glance at a different planner reminds me why I choose the Gallery Leather Co. planner year after year.  The fact that they are pretty on my shelf is only one reason.



Fabulous Features of the Leather Professional Planner by Gallery Leather Co.


Aesthetically, it is a beautiful calendar with it's leather cover and gold gilded page edges. Plus, as the name suggests, it has a very professional appearance.  The year is embossed on the front cover, but is not colored or filled with anything.  I love that professional simplistic design.  I am never embarrassed to pull this calendar out in front of anyone when setting appointments or making notes.


Speaking of notes, there is a special note section in this planner.  I use that section to write down ideas for articles, or things I need to do that don't have a deadline.  

Leather Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co Reviewed



Leather Professional Planner Calendar Reviewed
The first page displays a quick reference showing a calendar of all of the months and dates in the standard square box display (shown on the right).  That helps when I just need to pull the dates quickly for every Friday in a particular month.   Or to quickly count the number of Fridays in a particular month.

A quick glance page for the previous year and the next year immediately follow the current year calendar.

Following those pages is a larger breakdown of the months for quick notes.  Each month has a page with boxes, one for each date, and area to make quick notes.

Professional Planner by Gallery Leather Co.
  

However, the section of the planner that I most rely on, the one that I refer to multiple times everyday is the daily calendar that displays each day of the week with appointment times.  This is where I organize my work day.  Without it, I would be lost.  The satin bookmark could be used anywhere to mark your place in the book, but I use it to mark the current week so I can quickly flip the planner open to it.


Professional Planner Calendar by Gallery Leather Co.
My fellow contributors already know a great deal about my busy schedule.  They see me at work daily.  But, I am here to tell you, without my trusty planner calendar, I would be lost.  It keeps me focused on what I need to accomplish each day and what should get my attention first each morning.  

I know I am not alone.  Many people scurry from one activity to the next trying to stay ahead and on their fast paced schedules.  I can tell you from experience, this planner calendar really makes a huge difference!
 





Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 23, 2018

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Reviewed

Fantastic Beasts The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Poster
Newt Scamander and his Fantastic Beasts return to discern and defend what is right in the magical realm of Harry Potter.  Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, just like Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, takes us back in time to 1927, decades before Harry Potter is born.  It gives more details about the past than we were ever given in the Harry Potter books or movies. 

For Harry Potter fans, you will be very pleased to see the background relationship and understand the bond between Grindelwald and Dumbledore.  For Fantastic Beasts fans, you will be trilled to see some of your favorite beasts again, as well as meet a few new beasts.  

Our entire group was immediately enchanted by the baby Nifflers at the beginning of the movie.  

Speaking of enchantments, as you would expect, this fantasy movie is filled with magic, spells, and special powers.  We even get to see Newt ride some of the Fantastic Beasts, which was truly fantastic!

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Released In Theaters on Nov. 16, 2018


The Plot of Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald 


 FANTASTIC BEASTS: CRIMES OF GRINDELWALD (2018) Original Authentic Movie Poster 11x17 - Single - Sided - Eddie Redmayne - Johnny Depp - Ezra Miller - Kathrine WaterstonCheck PriceGellert Grindelwald (Johnny Depp), who has been imprisoned by the Magical Congress of the United States of America, is being released into the custody of representatives from the London office.  However, on their return to London, Grindelwald escapes with help from one of his followers.

Grindelwald has a cult-like following that desires to maintain the pure blood line of wizardry, as well as declare their supremacy to muggles (non-wizards).  According to Dumbledore, Grindelwald  has "a vision that he would rise to dominance over the Wizarding world".  

Because of a childhood pact, the beloved Hogwart professor, Albus Dumbledore (Jude Law), cannot move against Grindelwald, so he meets with Newt Scamander to ask him if he will take on the task.  But, Newt prefers to remain neutral.  He does not want to pick a side, even though his own brother, Theseus, works for the Ministry of Magic. 

Regardless of his wish to remain neutral, Newt is once again pulled into the feud between the Ministry of Magic and Grindelwald.  There are some interesting plot twists and family ties that keep you spellbound right up to the end.



My Recommendations and Personal Opinion


Before you see the movie, be prepared and committed to paying close attention.  Distractions could cause you to miss some very important insights, comments or even characters.  For instance, Harry Potter fans will be especially interested in the character, Nagini.  

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and highly recommend it to Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts fans.  Most likely, you will come away from the theater with a greater appreciation for Newt Scamander.
 




Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Movie ReviewIf you haven't already seen Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, you can read that review and rent the DVD by clicking here.
Unlike the Harry Potter movies, "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" is not based on a published book. It is a screenplay based on a text book that was written by a fictional character in the Harry Potter books.







Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Reviewed Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 16, 2018

Duraflame Firelogs Reviewed - Wood Alternatives for Fireplace

Duraflame Firelogs Reviewed - Wood Alternatives for Fireplace
If you love a great fire, but don't love the idea of chopping wood or cutting down trees, than you are going to love Duraflame firelogs!

We started using the Duraflame firelogs years ago. Once it gets cold outside, my husband starts every day by his outdoor fireplace, drinking his coffee and simply enjoying the great outdoors.  As fireplace enthusiasts, we are very familiar with woodpiles and the creatures that made their homes in them.  Therefore, neither of us are keen on having a woodpile stacked close to our home.  Frankly, if it was left to me to go to a woodpile and bring in wood, I would probably start burning the furniture inside first.  As much as I love mice, I really, really hate snakes!

The Duraflame firelogs are a most excellent alternative!



Duraflame Firelogs


 Duraflame 2.5 lb 1.5-hr Firelog, 6 pkA Duraflame firelog will last for at least 1½ hours, which is the perfect amount of time for hanging around an outdoor fireplace in the cold.  If you need more time, simply use a second firelog after the first one has gone out.  Not only do they create that inviting fireplace ambience, but they are actually warm.  Because the Duraflame firelogs are made with sawdust, they smell like firewood. 

We use them outside only, but they are actually made to burn inside in a well-vented, open hearth fireplace in place of burning real wood.  

For the environmentalist who enjoys a great fire, the Duraflame firelog is the perfect replacement.  Since they are made of sawdust, agricultural fibers, and wax, they don't require cutting down trees to have a fire.  It is a green, environmentally friendly way to have a fire.  And, for those of us who hate discovering creatures in the woodpile, well needless to say, we are also thrilled.

Each log comes individually packaged inside the box.  Don't unwrap the log!  You light the firelog by lighting the paper wrapper, which serves as the perfect fire starter.  



Information About our Outdoor Fireplace shown in the introduction photo:  We bought our outdoor fireplace 7 years ago and have been very pleased with it. Unfortunately, the Char-Broil Trentino Deluxe Outdoor Fireplace has been discontinued.

If you need an outdoor fireplace, we did purchase ours from Amazon and you can see their current "in stock" models by clicking here.




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 9, 2018

New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review

New CorningWare Bakeware Compared to Vintage CorningWare 


New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review
I have used CorningWare cookware in my kitchen for decades.  It is truly one of my favorite brands since it can be used to store and cook.  I always store leftovers in our CorningWare dishes simple because it can literally go from the refrigerator to the microwave or oven, lid and all.

When I recently visited our daughter, we had to go to a department store to pick up another curtain panel.  As we were walking through the store, I spied the new CorningWare bakeware and immediately fell in love with their looks.  The new style is cuter than the vintage CorningWare that I own and use weekly.  I just love the oval shape with the ribbed sides and the cute little handles.  

I thoroughly inspected them in the store, turning them upside down, considering their weight and questioning the new lid style.  I also noted they were made in China.  I set the little baking dish back down and moved on to the curtains so we could get what we came for and get done.  

Overnight, I kept thinking about the new CorningWare.  You could almost say I was haunted by it.  Needless to say, on our way out of town the next day, I asked my husband to stop at the store so I could get the new dish.  When he saw it, after hearing about it several times the day before, he suggested I buy two.  It didn't require much encouragement for me to pick up two instead of one.

CorningWare French White 1.5 Quart Oval Casserole with Glass Lid
Click to Check Current Price - CorningWare Oval Casserole


Vintage Style vs New Style CorningWare Comparison


My vintage CorningWare is heavier.  I think that is mostly due to the changes in the lid instead of the actual casserole dish.  The lid is a completely different design.  It is much thinner and much lighter weight.  Instead of being part of the glass, the lid handle is ceramic.  It is pretty, but I fear it won't last decades the way the thick glass lids for my vintage CorningWare has endured.  One more note about the lid before I move on, it cannot go from the freezer to the oven.  

New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review


As I noted earlier, I love the ribbed design.  That ribbing style has been around for a while, but the rounded handles are new.  At least they are new to me.  I had never seen them before.  As you can see in the photo, all of my vintage CorningWare has smooth sides and squared handles.  

Not only does the ribbing look pretty, but it actually helps me get a better grip on the dish.  That does not mean I will be discarding my vintage CorningWare.  It is simply an observation for comparison.

I worried the light lid would not "seal" leftovers in the refrigerator.  I have used them multiple times now and find that was an unnecessary concern.  They seem to seal just fine.   

 Corningware French White III
Oval Casserole with Glass Cover, 1.5-Quart
Check Price
One awesome surprise, the oval shape seems to take up less room on the refrigerator shelf.   I have a side by side refrigerator which is nice for the freezer, but makes the shelves a lot smaller on the fridge side.  I can easily fit two of the oval shaped dishes on the same shelf.  


Additional CorningWare Features

  • Cleans up easily 
  • Refrigerator, Microwave, Oven Safe, Dishwasher
  • Dish is Freezer Safe
  • Non-porous Stoneware won't absorb odors or stains
  • Bake, Store & Serve in One Dish


My Conclusion

New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review
As I said in the opening, I love the looks of the new CorningWare.  Plus, it is great for storing and reheating leftovers.  Overall, it will be great for us.  However, I do not expect it to be as durable and long-lasting as my vintage sets.  I fully expect the pretty lid handle to become an issue at some point.  

For us, these dishes are exactly what we needed because we almost always have leftovers from dinner.  The lighter weight allows me to effortlessly transfer them from the refrigerator to the microwave.  

Since I purchased the 1.5 quart size, I limited myself on what dinners and sides I could cook in them.  Most of my recipes call for a larger size.  But, one of the things I want to be able to do is to half recipes when I am cooking for two instead of four or more. 

New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review
Original Roast Recipe on Cooking for the Holidays



Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 2, 2018

Disney Zootopia Movie Review

Disney Zootopia Movie Review
Disney Zootopia is a really cute animated movie that features all animals.  As you can see in the photo on the right, the main characters are Judy Hopps, a rabbit, and Nick Wilde, a fox.  In addition to Judy and Nick, there were several other animal characters in this movie that I loved.

I really like the story line and the message that "you can be anything you wanna be".   The movie doesn't make light of the reality though that it often takes hard work and real commitment to achieve your goals.  It also touches on how preconceived opinions or past experiences can influence your thoughts when you first meet someone.  I really liked the way each character faced and dealt with their prejudices and negative attitudes to overcome them.

The characters are adorable and the animation is fantastic!  I also enjoyed the music.  Overall, it was a great way to spend 108 minutes.

The DVD cover quotes Germain Lussier, "The Best Film Disney Animation Has Made in 20 Years", and I would agree.


The Plot of Zootopia


 Zootopia (Plus Bonus Features)Check PriceJudy Hopps, the leading bunny, wants to be a police officer when she grows up.  That is not really a job most would believe is appropriate for a  bunny rabbit.  Even her parents try to dissuade Judy.  However, Judy is determined.  After she gets through the police academy, she is sent to Zootopia, which is appropriately named.  It is an animal utopia.  Predators and prey coexist without the natural desires to hunt or the natural fear of being the prey.

Judy finds herself surrounded by fabulous large beasts who are her fellow police officers.  On her first day, assignments are handed out.  There are a dozen missing animals that don't seem to have any obvious commonalities.  However, Judy is not assigned to find any of the missing animals.  She is assigned to parking duty to hand out tickets.  It seems like a safe place for a bunny officer.  Of course, that assignment does not make Judy happy at all.  However, she strives to make the best of it.

While writing parking tickets on her very first day, Judy sees a fox (Nick) and his "child" enter an ice cream shop owned by an elephant.  Nick wishes to buy a treat for his "son", but the owner refuses to serve a fox.  That is, until Judy comes to their defense.  Later that day, she finds that she was duped by the sly fox.  However, it turns out that the fox is just who she needs to help her find Mr. Otterton.  

As you have probably already guessed, Mr. Otterton is an otter that is missing, but he isn't one of the individuals the police are most worried about finding.  But, Judy willingly takes the case!  And that is when the real action begins.


My Recommendation of Zootopia


As an adult and animal enthusiasts, I really enjoyed the movie.  I especially loved the scene that included the sloths, who work for the DMV.  




The movie is rated PG and for good reason.  I do recommend that parents watch the movie first to determine if it is suitable for your own children.  Most notably, there are a few crude words that a parent may not want their very young children hearing and definitely not repeating.  Otherwise, I would say Zootopia is a fun movie to watch for both children and adults.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Disney Zootopia Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 26, 2018

Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review

Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review
The old classic movies starring Bette Davis still stand out in my mind as the very best suspense movies ever made.  Pure acting excellence coupled with a great plot is all too often missing in current day films.  Therefore, when I want to see a really great movie, I frequently look to the classics of the past.

I was recently reminded of Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte and simply had to watch it again.  I remembered bits and pieces of the plot, but had totally forgotten the reason John Mayhew was killed and who was responsible for his death. 

Once again, I was pulled into the story of the movie and the mystery behind the murder.  I had totally forgotten the motive and the secrets surrounding the crime.  Ironically, I didn't remember the opening scene of the movie at all, and it sets the stage for the events that follow.  Actually, I wonder now if I had ever seen the opening before since it precedes the credits and the title of the movie.

This movie makes you think.  It will remind you that betrayal often bears a hefty price.  It will make you grateful that you are not wealthy.  Sadly, wealth makes you a target, especially when you are too old to defend yourself.


The Plot of Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte


 Hush.Hush, Sweet CharlotteCheck PriceThe movie and story begin in 1927 when Charlotte Hollis (Bette Davis) was young and in love with John Mayhew, (Bruce Dern) who is already married.  When Charlotte's father (Victor Buono) is informed that his only daughter is entangled with a married man, he is determined to see the relationship end.  

The movie opens with the meeting between Mr. Hollis and John Mayhew.  Mr. Hollis is furious and disgusted with idea of his beautiful daughter being involved with a married man.  He refuses to accept that this man will have both his daughter and her inheritance, the land and property he has struggled to make prosperous.  

Mr. Hollis demands to know their plans after informing John that his wife, Jewel Mayhew, told him about their affair.  When John tells him that they had planned to run off from a dance together the following night, Mr. Hollis instructs him to break off the relationship with Charlotte instead.  In reference to his home and daughter, he lashes out at John and says, "I created both and I am going to keep 'em."


The Murder of John Mayhew


At the dance the following night, John does as he was instructed and breaks off his relationship with Charlotte.  She is devastated and runs from the room after exclaiming "I could kill you!" 

Moments later, the murderer enters the room with a meat cleaver and John is killed by an unseen assailant who cuts off his hand and head.

When Charlotte enters the dance hall with blood on her white formal dress, the music stops and everyone turns to stare at her.  This introduction section of the movie ends with her father approaching her to remove her from the room.



The Tortured Spinster in Hush Hush Sweet Charotte


The movie fast-forwards to 1964.  Charlotte's father is dead and Charlotte is basically alone with only her long-trusted housekeeper, Velma (Agnes Moorehead), to care for her.   Rumors of the crazy spinster, perhaps murderer, prompts even the children in town to taunt and tease Charlotte relentlessly.  She never leaves her own property, but they come to her home to torment her.

If you enjoy a fabulous suspense movie that has a unexpected end, you will love the classic movie, Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte starring Bette Davis.
This file is in the public domain on Wikimedia
Unfortunately for Charlotte, Louisiana seizes her property to build a bridge through her land to join roads.  But, Charlotte refuses to leave the house or even acknowledge the legality of them stealing her home & property.  She grabs her rifle and shoots at the demolition team with the road construction crew, which brings the sheriff out.  Even though he doesn't want the responsibility, the sheriff informs Charlotte that she has only 10 days to vacate the premises.  Charlotte is desperate.  She has already contacted her cousin to come and help her.  After all, Miriam (Olivia De Havilland), was taken into her home as a child when her own parents were killed, and subsequently cared for by Charlotte's father.  Surely she will know what to do to save the estate and help her.

When Cousin Miriam admits there is nothing she can do to save the property, Charlotte becomes enraged and reveals that Miriam was the one who told John's wife, Jewel Mayhew, about Charlotte and John's affair.  

It becomes all to clear that poor Charlotte is only hanging on by a short thread mentally.  She frequently lapses into confusion and mourns for John all over again.  It also becomes abundantly clear that someone is torturing Charlotte by sending letters and leaving macabre reminders of the murder in her home, as if she isn't tortured enough by the memory of her lover being killed.  She even begins to believe that John is visiting her again, playing the piano, and singing to her.


Dr. Drew Bayliss (Joseph Cotton), who was once Miriam's boyfriend, is Charlotte's attending physician.  He is certain she is close to needing full commitment due to her failing mind.

Charlotte clings to her love for John and highly treasures the gift he gave to her.  It is a music box that plays the tune of the his song to her. 



Another Important Character in the Plot


Mr. Willis is an insurance investigator who was previously a news reporter.  He is investigating why no one ever claimed the life insurance after the death of John Mayhew.  He wants to interview Jewel Mayhew, as well as Charlotte, in the hopes of finding the answer.

 Both of the women seem to like him.  Jewel Mayhew invites him into her home for a chat.  She gives him a letter for safekeeping along with her permission to open it at the time of her death.  She believes he will know what to do with the information in the letter.

Even Charlotte trusts Mr. Willis and talks openly with him until someone touches her beloved music box.  Then she flies into a rage and orders everyone from the house.


The End


There is no way I will  reveal the end, or even who murdered John Mayhew.  What I will say is that if you enjoy a fabulous suspense movie that has a unexpected end, you will love Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse







 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 19, 2018

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

Cat in the Hat Halloween Movie for Kids

The Cat in the Hat takes Sally and Nick on an adventure to the Oooky-ma-kooky closet to find their perfect Halloween costumes.  According to the Cat, the Oooky-ma-kooky closet has costumes "to fit one and all!"   The three friends board the Thingamajigger to find the Oooky-ma-kooky closet and costumes that aren't too spooky.

Of course, the adventure includes singing and lots of awesome animated characters.  Fish goes along for the ride and decides he wants to find ways to frighten the Cat.

There are several awesome lessons intertwined in this video that parents are sure to appreciate and the children will love.  They won't even realize they are learning anything.  They will simply think it is fun to watch. 


The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween


In addition to the Cat in the Hat, the video includes Fish (Karlos K. Krinklebein), Thing One and Thing Two from the original Cat in the Hat books.  

On their adventure to the Oookey-ma-kooky closet, the group gets lost in a corn maze, encounters a thunder storm, and the spookiest house around.  In the midst of the thunderstorm, Cat tells the children a few very interesting things about thunder.  When the Cat and the kids "take charge" in the house, they fix several of the creepy things making it less scary.  

On the way home, we find out the one thing the Cat in the Hat is afraid of and the children help him overcome his fear.




The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That Series


 The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That is a delightful series starring the fabulous Cat in the Hat originally created by Dr. Seuss.

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween is one of the video specials in The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That animated television series.  The entire series is dedicated to teaching pre-school children about science and math in a fun way.  However, younger school age children will also enjoy the shows. Actually, adults will enjoy this video too.   I know I love it!   I found myself smiling, even laughing several times during the show.

There is no reason to wait for the Halloween special to air again on television.  It is available on DVD and also through Amazon video.

DVD Prime Video The Series




More Halloween Videos for Children 



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 12, 2018

Halloween Pocket Size Candy Tins Filled with Jelly Beans

Halloween Pocket Size Candy Tins Filled with Jelly Beans

Halloween Candy Tins Available on Zazzle

Each year I look for a special treat to give to the trick-or-treaters that I personally know.  I'm sure you know what I mean.  Out of dozens of children who trick-or-treat in our neighborhood, I only personally know my friend's children or grandchildren who come to my door.  I like to have a really special gift to give to them, not just the candy I give to everyone trick-or-treating. 

It is also true that I like to have a special treat to give my own grown children for Halloween.  These Candy Tins filled with Jelly Beans are the perfect special treat for each of them.  Plus, the candy tins are refillable and not very expensive.  Therefore, they could actually keep and use their "special Halloween treat" year round.

By the way, there is a volume discount when you order 10 or more of these candy tins on Zazzle.  Plus, if you subscribe to "Zazzle Black" (standard subscription - currently $9.95/year), you will get free shipping on your orders on Zazzle.  I have personally saved over $300 by subscribing to Zazzle Black. 

Also, anytime you buy on Zazzle, be sure you check their current coupons for savings!

 

Halloween Candy Tins with Jelly Beans or Mints

Halloween Grim Reaper Candy Tin
There are a few reasons why I enjoy giving these pocket candy tins as special Halloween treats.  

First, Jelly Beans are a very popular candy.  It seems like everyone loves them.  

Second, as I mentioned earlier, they are refillable, which means the gift will last well beyond Halloween.

The candy tins come with a variety of images on the front.  You simply choose the picture you think is appropriate for the recipients.  Obviously, the grim reaper on the right would be for adults, but I have also featured some of my own favorites for children below.

Plus, the candy tins are small enough to slip into jeans pockets or the interior pocket of a purse, which makes them very convenient to carry.  The tins are approximately 2½" wide.

You choose the flavor of Jelly Belly jelly beans in the tin.  Select assorted or one specific flavor from the options available.  The tin holds 20 jelly beans.   

Mints are also available as a choice instead of jelly beans.  Or, you can choose to have the tin shipped to you empty and fill it with whatever you wish.

Oh, and lest I forget, they make great Halloween party favors!

 

Halloween on Zazzle

 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 5, 2018

Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection Reviewed

Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection Reviewed
I have always loved the Alfred Hitchcock suspense movies.  Hitchcock truly was the master of suspense.  No need for gore or extreme violence in his movies.  They are simply pure suspenseful entertainment.  Many of my favorite actors often starred in Hitchcock movies.  To be honest, I'm not sure if they were my favorite actors first, or if the Hitchcock movies introduced me to them.  With real actors like Jimmy Stewart, Cary Grant, Grace Kelly and Ingrid Bergman, plus Alfred Hitchcock as the director, the movies were destined for great success!

Ironically, until recently, I had never owned any of the Hitchcock DVD's.  My son corrected that horrific oversight by gifting me with an Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films collection of DVD's.  Then, he and my husband joined me for a film festival in our den.  We cooked hotdogs, drank cokes and watched several of the movies together.  Because there are six movies in my new collection, we have enough left for more film festivals in our den.  Needless to say, I look forward to our next Hitchcock binge.  

It had been a while since I watched any of the Hitchcock movies and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing them again.  However, for my son and my husband, it was their first time to see "Suspicion" and "Strangers On a Train".  Now, Alfred Hitchcock has 2 new fans! 


Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection


Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films
Click to Buy Now
The collection my son chose to give to me includes:
  • Suspicion starring Cary Grant and Joan Fontaine
  • Strangers on a Train starring Farley Granger
  • I Confess starring Montgomery Clift
  • Dial M for Murder starring Grace Kelly
  • The Wrong Man starring Henry Fonda
  • North by Northwest starring Cary Grant 

For our first film festival, we watch "Suspicion" and "Strangers on a Train".  They are both great movies!


Review of Suspicion starring Cary Grant 


Lina McLaidlaw (Joan Fontaine) seems destined to be a spinster until she meets the charming Johnnie Aysgarth (Cary Grant).  She falls head over heals in love with him.  Lina is quick to forgive any of Johnnie's minor flaws like his gambling or his outrageous stories created to cover for his actions.  

When one of Johnnie's old friends shows up for a visit, Lina is quick to welcome him to their home.  Beaky (Nigel Bruce) is very easygoing and likable.  He is constantly making excuses for Johnnie's decisions and seems to thoroughly enjoy watching him make up his grand stories to cover his latest scheme.  His adoration of Johnnie endears him to Lina.

When Beaky is murdered, Lina suspects her own husband and she worries that she will be his next victim.  Thus the name of the movie, "Suspicion".

This film is suspenseful right up until the very end. 




 

Strangers on a Train Review


When Guy Haines (Farley Granger) meets Bruno Antony (Robert Walker) on a train, he doesn't realize he is in the company of a psychopath.   

Bruno does start to put Guy on edge though when he starts talking about Guy's life.  He knows way too much about Guy, his adulterous wife, and his girlfriend.  When Bruno suggests that he will kill Guy's wife if he will in turn kill his father, Guy just wants to get away from Bruno.   However, as far as Bruno is concerned, a deal has been struck.

When Bruno kills Guy's wife, Guy realizes how very serious Bruno was with his "murder trade" suggestion.  What does he do?  Now, Bruno is threatening to set Guy up as his wife's murderer.  Surely he won't kill Bruno's father in return. 

 

 

Both Suspicion and Strangers on a Train are suspense filled dramas that are sensational and I highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys a great suspense movie.  As for me, I look forward to our next "at home" film festival.

More Alfred Hitchcock Film Collections

 

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 28, 2018

Inexpensive Disposable Rain Ponchos Reviewed

Inenpensive Disposable Rain Ponchos Reviewed
Rain Ponchos can save the day!  When you are at an outdoor event and it starts to rain, would you pay $1.75 to stay dry and continue enjoying the outing?  Most of us would be happy to give a very small fee to anyone selling a rain cover for our hair, clothing, totes, and cameras. 

We recently went to an outdoor arts and crafts fair. We had planned our attendance for over a month and I was pretty excited when the day finally arrived.  I enjoy walking around, looking at all of the new crafts talented people have made and are willing to sell.  I admit, I don't always buy a lot, but I still love going.  Plus, pronto pups seem to call me from miles away.  In our region, there is always a pronto pup stand (or two) at every outdoor event. 

What I don't like, is to get caught in the rain unprepared.  A wonderful day outdoors can quickly become a horrible experience that includes mass numbers of fleeing bodies, followed by ridiculous traffic jams of cars filled with wet humans anxious to get home and get dry.  However, armed with a handy disposable rain poncho, I can cover myself quickly, then stand back and watch the attendees desert an event, leaving me and the few other prepared attendees, enjoying a much less crowded function.


Why I Carry Disposable Rain Ponchos to Outdoor Events


 Rain Poncho: Disposable Emergency Rain Ponchos
for Adults  
Including Drawstring Hood and Thick Material
(10 Pack, Clear)
Check Price
Let me use the arts and crafts fair as an example.  The tents are set up and tables are filled with wonderful handmade creations and art.  These types of events cannot be postponed due to a little rain.  Toss a few thousand people in and you have crowded streets.  Everyone is laughing and having fun, but it is hard to see all of the tables.  Some of the most popular tables are completely surrounded by people who are taller than me.  Then it happens!  The promised rain comes and people start leaving in droves, some actually jogging to their cars.  

Within 30 minutes, the crafts fair and 100+ tables covered with wonderful things, belongs to me and a hundred or so prepared festival attendees.  It becomes extremely easy to visit each table and really thoroughly peruse the merchandise.  Even when the rain stops, few people return to the event.

Oh, and with the rain ponchos, my hands are free to eat, drink & shop!

Recommended Disposable Rain Ponchos   

I prefer the disposable rain ponchos for several reasons.
  1. Easily carry a prepackaged rain poncho in jeans back pockets, purses, vests, backpacks, etc. and pull it out if needed.
  2. Toss a wet rain poncho directly in the trash, even before getting in the car.  Thereby avoiding getting seats and automobile interior wet.
  3. Rain Ponchos cover my hair, clothes, and everything I have around my neck (like my camera) or that I may be carrying.
  4. Featured Rain Ponchos have drawstrings in the hood for fit 
  5. Easily keep 3 or 4 in the glove compartment of the car to be handy when needed.

One Note:  If you purchase the featured ponchos, be sure you tie a knot in the ends of the strings in the hood.  Otherwise, they will come right out and the hood will be hard to keep up.


Where to Use a Disposable Rain Poncho

 Rain Poncho: Disposable Emergency Rain Ponchos for Adults In Bulk Including Drawstring Hood and Thick Material
(5 Pack for Colors or 10 pack for Clear)
Check Price

  • Any Outdoor Festival or Event
  • Outdoor Sports Events
  • Fairs, Amusement Parks, Disneyworld  (great for water rides!)
  • Outdoor Concerts
  • Camping
  • Hiking
  • Zoos 
  • Botanical Gardens 
  • School Field Trips
  • Vacations when packing limits apparel
  • Protect Halloween Costumes when Trick-or-Treating
  • Even indoor events when you just need to get to your car without getting wet!

If you pay an admission fee, do you really want to leave simply because of rain?


Additional Rain Ponchos Available - Choose Your Favorite!



Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner