Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts

Friday, November 2, 2018

Disney Zootopia Movie Review

Disney Zootopia Movie Review
Disney Zootopia is a really cute animated movie that features all animals.  As you can see in the photo on the right, the main characters are Judy Hopps, a rabbit, and Nick Wilde, a fox.  In addition to Judy and Nick, there were several other animal characters in this movie that I loved.

I really like the story line and the message that "you can be anything you wanna be".   The movie doesn't make light of the reality though that it often takes hard work and real commitment to achieve your goals.  It also touches on how preconceived opinions or past experiences can influence your thoughts when you first meet someone.  I really liked the way each character faced and dealt with their prejudices and negative attitudes to overcome them.

The characters are adorable and the animation is fantastic!  I also enjoyed the music.  Overall, it was a great way to spend 108 minutes.

The DVD cover quotes Germain Lussier, "The Best Film Disney Animation Has Made in 20 Years", and I would agree.


The Plot of Zootopia


 Zootopia (Plus Bonus Features)Check PriceJudy Hopps, the leading bunny, wants to be a police officer when she grows up.  That is not really a job most would believe is appropriate for a  bunny rabbit.  Even her parents try to dissuade Judy.  However, Judy is determined.  After she gets through the police academy, she is sent to Zootopia, which is appropriately named.  It is an animal utopia.  Predators and prey coexist without the natural desires to hunt or the natural fear of being the prey.

Judy finds herself surrounded by fabulous large beasts who are her fellow police officers.  On her first day, assignments are handed out.  There are a dozen missing animals that don't seem to have any obvious commonalities.  However, Judy is not assigned to find any of the missing animals.  She is assigned to parking duty to hand out tickets.  It seems like a safe place for a bunny officer.  Of course, that assignment does not make Judy happy at all.  However, she strives to make the best of it.

While writing parking tickets on her very first day, Judy sees a fox (Nick) and his "child" enter an ice cream shop owned by an elephant.  Nick wishes to buy a treat for his "son", but the owner refuses to serve a fox.  That is, until Judy comes to their defense.  Later that day, she finds that she was duped by the sly fox.  However, it turns out that the fox is just who she needs to help her find Mr. Otterton.  

As you have probably already guessed, Mr. Otterton is an otter that is missing, but he isn't one of the individuals the police are most worried about finding.  But, Judy willingly takes the case!  And that is when the real action begins.


My Recommendation of Zootopia


As an adult and animal enthusiasts, I really enjoyed the movie.  I especially loved the scene that included the sloths, who work for the DMV.  




The movie is rated PG and for good reason.  I do recommend that parents watch the movie first to determine if it is suitable for your own children.  Most notably, there are a few crude words that a parent may not want their very young children hearing and definitely not repeating.  Otherwise, I would say Zootopia is a fun movie to watch for both children and adults.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Disney Zootopia Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 26, 2018

Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review

Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review
The old classic movies starring Bette Davis still stand out in my mind as the very best suspense movies ever made.  Pure acting excellence coupled with a great plot is all too often missing in current day films.  Therefore, when I want to see a really great movie, I frequently look to the classics of the past.

I was recently reminded of Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte and simply had to watch it again.  I remembered bits and pieces of the plot, but had totally forgotten the reason John Mayhew was killed and who was responsible for his death. 

Once again, I was pulled into the story of the movie and the mystery behind the murder.  I had totally forgotten the motive and the secrets surrounding the crime.  Ironically, I didn't remember the opening scene of the movie at all, and it sets the stage for the events that follow.  Actually, I wonder now if I had ever seen the opening before since it precedes the credits and the title of the movie.

This movie makes you think.  It will remind you that betrayal often bears a hefty price.  It will make you grateful that you are not wealthy.  Sadly, wealth makes you a target, especially when you are too old to defend yourself.


The Plot of Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte


 Hush.Hush, Sweet CharlotteCheck PriceThe movie and story begin in 1927 when Charlotte Hollis (Bette Davis) was young and in love with John Mayhew, (Bruce Dern) who is already married.  When Charlotte's father (Victor Buono) is informed that his only daughter is entangled with a married man, he is determined to see the relationship end.  

The movie opens with the meeting between Mr. Hollis and John Mayhew.  Mr. Hollis is furious and disgusted with idea of his beautiful daughter being involved with a married man.  He refuses to accept that this man will have both his daughter and her inheritance, the land and property he has struggled to make prosperous.  

Mr. Hollis demands to know their plans after informing John that his wife, Jewel Mayhew, told him about their affair.  When John tells him that they had planned to run off from a dance together the following night, Mr. Hollis instructs him to break off the relationship with Charlotte instead.  In reference to his home and daughter, he lashes out at John and says, "I created both and I am going to keep 'em."


The Murder of John Mayhew


At the dance the following night, John does as he was instructed and breaks off his relationship with Charlotte.  She is devastated and runs from the room after exclaiming "I could kill you!" 

Moments later, the murderer enters the room with a meat cleaver and John is killed by an unseen assailant who cuts off his hand and head.

When Charlotte enters the dance hall with blood on her white formal dress, the music stops and everyone turns to stare at her.  This introduction section of the movie ends with her father approaching her to remove her from the room.



The Tortured Spinster in Hush Hush Sweet Charotte


The movie fast-forwards to 1964.  Charlotte's father is dead and Charlotte is basically alone with only her long-trusted housekeeper, Velma (Agnes Moorehead), to care for her.   Rumors of the crazy spinster, perhaps murderer, prompts even the children in town to taunt and tease Charlotte relentlessly.  She never leaves her own property, but they come to her home to torment her.

If you enjoy a fabulous suspense movie that has a unexpected end, you will love the classic movie, Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte starring Bette Davis.
This file is in the public domain on Wikimedia
Unfortunately for Charlotte, Louisiana seizes her property to build a bridge through her land to join roads.  But, Charlotte refuses to leave the house or even acknowledge the legality of them stealing her home & property.  She grabs her rifle and shoots at the demolition team with the road construction crew, which brings the sheriff out.  Even though he doesn't want the responsibility, the sheriff informs Charlotte that she has only 10 days to vacate the premises.  Charlotte is desperate.  She has already contacted her cousin to come and help her.  After all, Miriam (Olivia De Havilland), was taken into her home as a child when her own parents were killed, and subsequently cared for by Charlotte's father.  Surely she will know what to do to save the estate and help her.

When Cousin Miriam admits there is nothing she can do to save the property, Charlotte becomes enraged and reveals that Miriam was the one who told John's wife, Jewel Mayhew, about Charlotte and John's affair.  

It becomes all to clear that poor Charlotte is only hanging on by a short thread mentally.  She frequently lapses into confusion and mourns for John all over again.  It also becomes abundantly clear that someone is torturing Charlotte by sending letters and leaving macabre reminders of the murder in her home, as if she isn't tortured enough by the memory of her lover being killed.  She even begins to believe that John is visiting her again, playing the piano, and singing to her.


Dr. Drew Bayliss (Joseph Cotton), who was once Miriam's boyfriend, is Charlotte's attending physician.  He is certain she is close to needing full commitment due to her failing mind.

Charlotte clings to her love for John and highly treasures the gift he gave to her.  It is a music box that plays the tune of the his song to her. 



Another Important Character in the Plot


Mr. Willis is an insurance investigator who was previously a news reporter.  He is investigating why no one ever claimed the life insurance after the death of John Mayhew.  He wants to interview Jewel Mayhew, as well as Charlotte, in the hopes of finding the answer.

 Both of the women seem to like him.  Jewel Mayhew invites him into her home for a chat.  She gives him a letter for safekeeping along with her permission to open it at the time of her death.  She believes he will know what to do with the information in the letter.

Even Charlotte trusts Mr. Willis and talks openly with him until someone touches her beloved music box.  Then she flies into a rage and orders everyone from the house.


The End


There is no way I will  reveal the end, or even who murdered John Mayhew.  What I will say is that if you enjoy a fabulous suspense movie that has a unexpected end, you will love Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse







 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 19, 2018

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review

Cat in the Hat Halloween Movie for Kids

The Cat in the Hat takes Sally and Nick on an adventure to the Oooky-ma-kooky closet to find their perfect Halloween costumes.  According to the Cat, the Oooky-ma-kooky closet has costumes "to fit one and all!"   The three friends board the Thingamajigger to find the Oooky-ma-kooky closet and costumes that aren't too spooky.

Of course, the adventure includes singing and lots of awesome animated characters.  Fish goes along for the ride and decides he wants to find ways to frighten the Cat.

There are several awesome lessons intertwined in this video that parents are sure to appreciate and the children will love.  They won't even realize they are learning anything.  They will simply think it is fun to watch. 


The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween


In addition to the Cat in the Hat, the video includes Fish (Karlos K. Krinklebein), Thing One and Thing Two from the original Cat in the Hat books.  

On their adventure to the Oookey-ma-kooky closet, the group gets lost in a corn maze, encounters a thunder storm, and the spookiest house around.  In the midst of the thunderstorm, Cat tells the children a few very interesting things about thunder.  When the Cat and the kids "take charge" in the house, they fix several of the creepy things making it less scary.  

On the way home, we find out the one thing the Cat in the Hat is afraid of and the children help him overcome his fear.




The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That Series


 The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That is a delightful series starring the fabulous Cat in the Hat originally created by Dr. Seuss.

The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween is one of the video specials in The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That animated television series.  The entire series is dedicated to teaching pre-school children about science and math in a fun way.  However, younger school age children will also enjoy the shows. Actually, adults will enjoy this video too.   I know I love it!   I found myself smiling, even laughing several times during the show.

There is no reason to wait for the Halloween special to air again on television.  It is available on DVD and also through Amazon video.

DVD Prime Video The Series




More Halloween Videos for Children 



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About Halloween Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 12, 2018

Halloween Pocket Size Candy Tins Filled with Jelly Beans

Halloween Pocket Size Candy Tins Filled with Jelly Beans

Halloween Candy Tins Available on Zazzle

Each year I look for a special treat to give to the trick-or-treaters that I personally know.  I'm sure you know what I mean.  Out of dozens of children who trick-or-treat in our neighborhood, I only personally know my friend's children or grandchildren who come to my door.  I like to have a really special gift to give to them, not just the candy I give to everyone trick-or-treating. 

It is also true that I like to have a special treat to give my own grown children for Halloween.  These Candy Tins filled with Jelly Beans are the perfect special treat for each of them.  Plus, the candy tins are refillable and not very expensive.  Therefore, they could actually keep and use their "special Halloween treat" year round.

By the way, there is a volume discount when you order 10 or more of these candy tins on Zazzle.  Plus, if you subscribe to "Zazzle Black" (standard subscription - currently $9.95/year), you will get free shipping on your orders on Zazzle.  I have personally saved over $300 by subscribing to Zazzle Black. 

Also, anytime you buy on Zazzle, be sure you check their current coupons for savings!

 

Halloween Candy Tins with Jelly Beans or Mints

Halloween Grim Reaper Candy Tin
There are a few reasons why I enjoy giving these pocket candy tins as special Halloween treats.  

First, Jelly Beans are a very popular candy.  It seems like everyone loves them.  

Second, as I mentioned earlier, they are refillable, which means the gift will last well beyond Halloween.

The candy tins come with a variety of images on the front.  You simply choose the picture you think is appropriate for the recipients.  Obviously, the grim reaper on the right would be for adults, but I have also featured some of my own favorites for children below.

Plus, the candy tins are small enough to slip into jeans pockets or the interior pocket of a purse, which makes them very convenient to carry.  The tins are approximately 2½" wide.

You choose the flavor of Jelly Belly jelly beans in the tin.  Select assorted or one specific flavor from the options available.  The tin holds 20 jelly beans.   

Mints are also available as a choice instead of jelly beans.  Or, you can choose to have the tin shipped to you empty and fill it with whatever you wish.

Oh, and lest I forget, they make great Halloween party favors!

 

Halloween on Zazzle

 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 5, 2018

Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection Reviewed

Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection Reviewed
I have always loved the Alfred Hitchcock suspense movies.  Hitchcock truly was the master of suspense.  No need for gore or extreme violence in his movies.  They are simply pure suspenseful entertainment.  Many of my favorite actors often starred in Hitchcock movies.  To be honest, I'm not sure if they were my favorite actors first, or if the Hitchcock movies introduced me to them.  With real actors like Jimmy Stewart, Cary Grant, Grace Kelly and Ingrid Bergman, plus Alfred Hitchcock as the director, the movies were destined for great success!

Ironically, until recently, I had never owned any of the Hitchcock DVD's.  My son corrected that horrific oversight by gifting me with an Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films collection of DVD's.  Then, he and my husband joined me for a film festival in our den.  We cooked hotdogs, drank cokes and watched several of the movies together.  Because there are six movies in my new collection, we have enough left for more film festivals in our den.  Needless to say, I look forward to our next Hitchcock binge.  

It had been a while since I watched any of the Hitchcock movies and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing them again.  However, for my son and my husband, it was their first time to see "Suspicion" and "Strangers On a Train".  Now, Alfred Hitchcock has 2 new fans! 


Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection


Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films
Click to Buy Now
The collection my son chose to give to me includes:
  • Suspicion starring Cary Grant and Joan Fontaine
  • Strangers on a Train starring Farley Granger
  • I Confess starring Montgomery Clift
  • Dial M for Murder starring Grace Kelly
  • The Wrong Man starring Henry Fonda
  • North by Northwest starring Cary Grant 

For our first film festival, we watch "Suspicion" and "Strangers on a Train".  They are both great movies!


Review of Suspicion starring Cary Grant 


Lina McLaidlaw (Joan Fontaine) seems destined to be a spinster until she meets the charming Johnnie Aysgarth (Cary Grant).  She falls head over heals in love with him.  Lina is quick to forgive any of Johnnie's minor flaws like his gambling or his outrageous stories created to cover for his actions.  

When one of Johnnie's old friends shows up for a visit, Lina is quick to welcome him to their home.  Beaky (Nigel Bruce) is very easygoing and likable.  He is constantly making excuses for Johnnie's decisions and seems to thoroughly enjoy watching him make up his grand stories to cover his latest scheme.  His adoration of Johnnie endears him to Lina.

When Beaky is murdered, Lina suspects her own husband and she worries that she will be his next victim.  Thus the name of the movie, "Suspicion".

This film is suspenseful right up until the very end. 




 

Strangers on a Train Review


When Guy Haines (Farley Granger) meets Bruno Antony (Robert Walker) on a train, he doesn't realize he is in the company of a psychopath.   

Bruno does start to put Guy on edge though when he starts talking about Guy's life.  He knows way too much about Guy, his adulterous wife, and his girlfriend.  When Bruno suggests that he will kill Guy's wife if he will in turn kill his father, Guy just wants to get away from Bruno.   However, as far as Bruno is concerned, a deal has been struck.

When Bruno kills Guy's wife, Guy realizes how very serious Bruno was with his "murder trade" suggestion.  What does he do?  Now, Bruno is threatening to set Guy up as his wife's murderer.  Surely he won't kill Bruno's father in return. 

 

 

Both Suspicion and Strangers on a Train are suspense filled dramas that are sensational and I highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys a great suspense movie.  As for me, I look forward to our next "at home" film festival.

More Alfred Hitchcock Film Collections

 

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 28, 2018

Inexpensive Disposable Rain Ponchos Reviewed

Inenpensive Disposable Rain Ponchos Reviewed
Rain Ponchos can save the day!  When you are at an outdoor event and it starts to rain, would you pay $1.75 to stay dry and continue enjoying the outing?  Most of us would be happy to give a very small fee to anyone selling a rain cover for our hair, clothing, totes, and cameras. 

We recently went to an outdoor arts and crafts fair. We had planned our attendance for over a month and I was pretty excited when the day finally arrived.  I enjoy walking around, looking at all of the new crafts talented people have made and are willing to sell.  I admit, I don't always buy a lot, but I still love going.  Plus, pronto pups seem to call me from miles away.  In our region, there is always a pronto pup stand (or two) at every outdoor event. 

What I don't like, is to get caught in the rain unprepared.  A wonderful day outdoors can quickly become a horrible experience that includes mass numbers of fleeing bodies, followed by ridiculous traffic jams of cars filled with wet humans anxious to get home and get dry.  However, armed with a handy disposable rain poncho, I can cover myself quickly, then stand back and watch the attendees desert an event, leaving me and the few other prepared attendees, enjoying a much less crowded function.


Why I Carry Disposable Rain Ponchos to Outdoor Events


 Rain Poncho: Disposable Emergency Rain Ponchos
for Adults  
Including Drawstring Hood and Thick Material
(10 Pack, Clear)
Check Price
Let me use the arts and crafts fair as an example.  The tents are set up and tables are filled with wonderful handmade creations and art.  These types of events cannot be postponed due to a little rain.  Toss a few thousand people in and you have crowded streets.  Everyone is laughing and having fun, but it is hard to see all of the tables.  Some of the most popular tables are completely surrounded by people who are taller than me.  Then it happens!  The promised rain comes and people start leaving in droves, some actually jogging to their cars.  

Within 30 minutes, the crafts fair and 100+ tables covered with wonderful things, belongs to me and a hundred or so prepared festival attendees.  It becomes extremely easy to visit each table and really thoroughly peruse the merchandise.  Even when the rain stops, few people return to the event.

Oh, and with the rain ponchos, my hands are free to eat, drink & shop!

Recommended Disposable Rain Ponchos   

I prefer the disposable rain ponchos for several reasons.
  1. Easily carry a prepackaged rain poncho in jeans back pockets, purses, vests, backpacks, etc. and pull it out if needed.
  2. Toss a wet rain poncho directly in the trash, even before getting in the car.  Thereby avoiding getting seats and automobile interior wet.
  3. Rain Ponchos cover my hair, clothes, and everything I have around my neck (like my camera) or that I may be carrying.
  4. Featured Rain Ponchos have drawstrings in the hood for fit 
  5. Easily keep 3 or 4 in the glove compartment of the car to be handy when needed.

One Note:  If you purchase the featured ponchos, be sure you tie a knot in the ends of the strings in the hood.  Otherwise, they will come right out and the hood will be hard to keep up.


Where to Use a Disposable Rain Poncho

 Rain Poncho: Disposable Emergency Rain Ponchos for Adults In Bulk Including Drawstring Hood and Thick Material
(5 Pack for Colors or 10 pack for Clear)
Check Price

  • Any Outdoor Festival or Event
  • Outdoor Sports Events
  • Fairs, Amusement Parks, Disneyworld  (great for water rides!)
  • Outdoor Concerts
  • Camping
  • Hiking
  • Zoos 
  • Botanical Gardens 
  • School Field Trips
  • Vacations when packing limits apparel
  • Protect Halloween Costumes when Trick-or-Treating
  • Even indoor events when you just need to get to your car without getting wet!

If you pay an admission fee, do you really want to leave simply because of rain?


Additional Rain Ponchos Available - Choose Your Favorite!



Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 21, 2018

Animal Shaped Memo Clip Holder Note Pad Dispenser Organizer Review

Animal Shaped Memo Clip Holder Note Pad Dispenser Organizer Review
I am always writing little notes and reminders for myself, as well as for my family.  These little notes help me tremendously to stay on schedule.   They also serve as reminders to take out the trash or refill a prescription, or other mundane chores I would rather forget.  I rely heavily on them everyday.  Sometimes I even write myself a little reminder about an upcoming holiday so I can remember when offices and stores are closed.  That helps me avoid being annoyed if I try to reach someone on business only to get an answering machine.  Needless to say, my laptop is often decorated with colorful post-its.  

Until recently, I didn't have a great place to leave a note for a family member, or for something that was unrelated to my computer work.  Seemed like my little notes ended up on the floor or covered by other "stuff" rendering them useless.

That was all before I bought my rabbit memo clip holder!


My Rabbit Memo Clip & Note Pad Holder


To say I love animals, would be an understatement.  I have rabbits, mice, squirrels, bears and even a giraffe included in my home decor surroundings.   They are beautifully displayed on pillows, afghans, magnets, and more.  Plus, I have cookie jars and teapots in the shape of animals.  Not to mention my beloved plush animals that decorate my craft room and our bedroom.

 Chris-Wang Multi-functional Plastic Animal Figure Memo Clip Holder Stand Note Pad Dispenser Organizer, With 200 SheetsCheck PriceOne day I was browsing Amazon, searching for shaped post-its when I spied a  rabbit shaped clip holder.  Yes, I had to have that memo clip holder!  

Now, my pretty blue rabbit chomps down on my daily reminders, receipts, or even my outgoing mail.  She keeps those slips of paper and envelopes front and center on my kitchen counter.  Therefore, the notes are no longer "lost" under other things or blowing to the floor unnoticed.  My blue rabbit has become my most useful home office helper.  

She also features a cut out space that is the perfect size for a pad of post-its.  She came with a blue note pad, but once they were all gone, I replaced them with a pad of post-its.  She can hold a post-it as well as any slip of paper.  I simply use post-its more often, but someone else might well prefer the less expensive note pad replacements.

In addition to the blue rabbit style that I selected, there is also a dinosaur, a giraffe, a donkey, a elephant and a hippo available.  I have to sit on my hands to keep from buying them all.  I think they are all adorable, but I really only have a place for one and I have a special affinity for rabbits.  However, you might prefer one of the other animal shaped memo holders so I have displayed them all below. 

 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 14, 2018

How to Easily Paint & Refinish Metal Outdoor Furniture

How to Easily Paint & Refinish Metal Outdoor Furniture
Renew Your Outdoor Furniture with Rust-Oleum Spray Paint

For the last few seasons, our outdoor furniture has started looking worn and tired.  Metal outdoor furniture is too expensive to throw away and replace, but it was definitely time to restore the beauty of the pieces.  

Last spring my husband started refinishing our outdoor furniture one piece at a time.  He choose our wrought iron table as his first project.  With a few cans of black Rust-Oleum and less than an hour, our outdoor table looked brand new again!  

Since then, he has refinished the chairs that match that table and the whole set is beautiful again. 

Last week, he refinished our wrought iron glider.  I love all of our outdoor furniture and appreciate its durability.  But, that glider is the one I use the most.  I am thrilled to have it restored to its original beauty.

My new slogan for wrought iron metal outdoor furniture:  Restore, Don't Replace!
 


Refinish Metal Outdoor Furniture
Refinished Wrought Iron Patio Table & Chairs
He also painted my little ghost  in the background with a can of White Rust-Oleum - Getting him ready for Halloween



How to Refinish Wrought Iron Outdoor Furniture

Time:  45 mins
Cost:  $25.00

Compared to the Cost of a New Glider:  $300.00

Because the refinishing of the metal table and chairs had been so successful, when my husband said he was going to refinish the glider, I grabbed my camera.  I wanted to make sure I had everything I needed to tell you exactly how to repaint your metal outdoor furniture too.

  How to Easily Paint & Refinish Metal Outdoor FurnitureItems Needed:
  • Cans of Rust-Oleum
  • Plastic Drop Cloth 
  • Tent Pegs
  • Plastic Gloves
  • Long Sleeve Shirt
  • Old Shoes & Old Painting Clothes
Step 1:  Clean the piece - remove all dust & dirt

Step 2:  Cover an area in the yard with a large, thick plastic drop cloth  (2.0 mil preferred)

Step 3:  Use tent pegs to hold the drop cloth down.  We used old army tent pegs at all four corners, but you could use bricks instead to weigh down the corners.

How to Easily Paint & Refinish Metal Outdoor Furniture Step 4:  Shake up the Rust-Oleum spray paint

Step 5:  Turn the piece over and start spraying the underside

Step 6:  Turn the piece right side up and spray the entire surface from every angle in order to cover it completely and evenly

It took about 45 minutes and 4 cans of Rust-Oleum to spray paint the glider.  That short amount of time spent renewing our glider will give us many more years to enjoy the beloved glider.  Plus, the Rust-Oleum spray paint helps to prevent rust.


Restoring Wrought Iron Metal Outdoor Patio Furniture


Additional Spray Painting Tips: 


Wear disposable gloves  (see products below)

Wear long sleeves to protect your skin

You may need to wear protective eyewear and disposable masks

Keep the spray can moving as you are painting to avoid runs.

You should do all of your painting on any individual piece within an hour.  

This spray paint, in our experience, tends to self- level any heavy areas of application as it drys, within reason.

Let the furniture piece completely dry for 24 hrs. before use.

 
How to Easily Paint & Refinish Metal Outdoor Furniture
My Wrought Iron Glider Beautifully Restored

   

 See More Crafts & DIY Reviews On
ReviewThisCrafts.com!

 

House of Sylvestermouse











Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 7, 2018

Clorox 2 Free & Clear Laundry Stain Remover & Color Booster Reviewed

Clorox 2 Reviewed
I now add Clorox 2 to Every Load of Laundry!

Almost 2 years ago, we were forced to buy a new washing machine because our 20+ year old machine could no longer be repaired.  I was not at all prepared for what we discovered when shopping for a new laundry washer.  The newer models no longer have an agitator in the tub of the machine.  Many of you may have already discovered that during your own shopping quests, but I was shocked.

With a height of only 5' 2", I found I could not reach the bottom of the washing machine tubs on the display floor.  The salesman recommended I use a step stool.  Ugh, no!  I was not going to use a step stool to remove the washed laundry from my machine with every load of laundry, every day.  

I finally found a Kenmore washing machine at the 3rd store that had a sloped front inside the machine so I could actually reach the bottom of the tub when leaning in.  So, I thought problem solved.  I didn't expect the next problem at all.


Adding Clorox 2 to Our Wash 


Clorox 2 Free & Clear Laundry Stain Remover & Color Booster Reviewed
Washing Machine with No Agitator Requires Clorox 2
Our new machine arrived and I was thrilled to be able to wash clothes again.  That is, until I smelled the first few loads of washed laundry.  For a while, I was able to convince myself that it was because the machine was new.  It was not!  

Oh, how I missed my agitator washing machine!!!  My clean clothes smelled musty, which made me think they were not clean.

I tried adding vinegar to every load.  It seemed to help some, but I could still smell traces of that nasty musty smell.  Using a scented detergent might have worked, but I'm not keen on covering one smell with another.  Plus, I am allergic to most scented detergents.  Actually, I am allergic to all scented detergents that I have ever tried, but I said "most" simply because there might be one I could use that I have never tried.

Finally, after a year of hating the smell of our clean clothes and being clueless what to do other than buy another new machine, I spied the Clorox 2 on the grocery shelf.  I had used it years ago as a color booster so I knew I was safe to try it again.  Glory be!  It actually worked!!!  

Not only does it help maintain the color of our clothes, but it actually cleans away that musty smell.  Once again, our clothes, bed linens and towels smell clean.

 Clorox 2 Free & Clear Laundry Stain Remover & Color BoosterCheck PriceThank you Clorox 2 for giving me back clean, and not stinky, clothes & linens!

How I Use Clorox 2

I measure only to the first line on the  cup lid of Clorox 2 and add it in with my regular washing detergent.  That way, it lasts a lot longer, but still does the job.

If you find you are experiencing the same issue with the new agitatorless washing machines, or if you want a color booster for your clothes, I highly recommend Clorox 2.  I do prefer the "Fragrance & Dye Free" option, but decades ago I did use the regular scent and didn't have any problems with it.  I should note, I cannot touch bleach without having an allergic reaction, or even smell it without getting an extreme headache, but the Clorox 2 doesn't bother me at all. 

Here's to having clean, vibrant, and fresh smelling clothes!



 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 31, 2018

Reviewing & Photographing The Tupelo Automobile Museum in Mississippi

Visiting The Tupelo Automobile Museum in Tupelo, Mississippi


1929 Cord L-29 - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
1929 Cord L-29 - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by ©Sylvestermouse
When my husband first suggested we jump off the gorgeous Natchez Trace Parkway to visit a car museum, my thoughts were not pleasant, but I did agree to make the stop.  To my surprise, what we found was a completely different kind of beauty.  I thoroughly enjoyed touring the Tupelo Automobile Museum in Tupelo, Mississippi.

It is a different kind of museum than what I normally prefer, but the relics made it well worth my while.   The museum is 12,000 square feet, but it was an easy walking tour thanks to the way the cars are lined up in rows.

I was fascinated by the older cars!  The Tupelo Automobile Museum has over 100 antique cars on display.  Some have been restored, out of necessity, while others appear to have just been well maintained by their owners.  

I especially loved the way the museum was laid out in chronological order.  From the entrance of the museum, we started our tour walking straight ahead with the oldest cars.  However, you could turn left and start with the race cars and take the route backwards to see the newest cars first.

Oh, and lest I forget to tell you, the museum is air-conditioned.  A huge improvement over an outdoor car show.

Reviewing & Photographing The Tupelo Automobile Museum in Tupelo Mississippi
Exterior of the Tupelo Automobile Museum
Sadly, the Tupelo Automobile Museum Closed Down in 2019
Please enjoy the photos from the past!

Photos of The Tupelo Automobile Museum


1904 Reo - Tupelo Automobile Museum - photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
1904 Reo
The exterior of the building doesn't begin to reflect or represent what you will see inside!

This collection of cars was originally a private collection owned by Frank Spain.  Mr. Spain decided to build the museum and share his collection with the world.  He had bigger plans for the museum that included a coffee shop for women and possibly a restaurant, but he died before he was able to add them.  I do think having a coffee shop for women, who are often less intrigued by cars than men, was a wonderful idea.  I would have welcomed a break for a sandwich and coke myself and then return to the museum to see what I might have missed on our first pass.

I took lots of pictures at The Tupelo Automobile Museum.  There are audio boxes by the cars that tell some of the history of the cars and interesting facts.  Honestly, I was more interested in looking than listening.  Of course, I was with my own historical scholar and I would much rather hear what he was saying than the recorded voice.



1904 Model D

Unlike the Reo in the photo above, the Model D (below) provided covering for all of it's passengers.  However, the feature that got my attention here was that basket on the side.  This was a fun exercise for my imagination as I considered what would have been stored in that basket.  Perhaps a picnic (food always comes to mind), but then I thought what about the ladies parasols or the gentleman's hats.  Would they really make a provision for parasols or hats?  Why not!  Comfort was obviously a factor.  And, either way, I love the creative covered storage area. 

1904 Model D - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
1904 Model D - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse

1908 Columbus Firestone

1908 Columbus Firestone - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
1908 Firestone Columbus - Side View
1908 Columbus Firestone - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
1908 Columbus Firestone - Front View

I was fascinated by the 1908 Columbus Firestone. It is the first time I have ever seen this car. 



I couldn't help but note, if I only saw it from the side, I would have assumed it was a horse drawn carriage. Expensive, yes. Self-propelled automotive? Nope, I wouldn't have recognized that immediately.


1915 Trumbull

The 1915 Trumbull was notable for a totally different reason. It may not be obvious in the photo, but those seats were tiny!  A stark reminder of how much smaller people were in the early 1900's.  

From side to side, I doubt the seat is as wide as a Ferris wheel seat.  There is no question there is less leg room than a Ferris wheel seat.
1915 Trumbull - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
1915 Trumbull

1912 Carter Car

This is one you would not want to miss!  At first, it did not grab my eye.  However, once I heard the history of the Carter Car - 4 Door, Model R, I was mystified by this car.  This is 1 of 6 known to exist! 

1912 Carter Car - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
1912 Carter Car - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse

 

The 1917 Pierce Arrow

The Pierce Arrow design appealed to me greatly.  I hated to move on past it.  What a difference a few years can make when truly creative geniuses are at work.  

Needless to say, I have expensive tastes.  The 1917 Pierce Arrow originally sold for $6,500.  Compare that to the 1915 Trumbull (shown above) that originally sold for $425.  Yes, I am still laughing, but I would love to own a Pierce Arrow, even today.  But, I would only sit in it in an enclosed garage.  I would never want the sun to touch that beauty and definitely not the rain!


1917 Pierce Arrow - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
1917 Pierce Arrow - Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Cynthia Sylvestermouse


1923 Brewster


Take a look at the interior of the 1923 Brewster.  The front seat was leather, while the back seats were cloth.  The window between the driver and passengers could only be opened by a passenger, thus the reason for the "speaking tube" intercom.


1923 Brewster - Photo by Sylvestermouse
1923 Brewster - Photo by Sylvestermouse
1923 Brewster - Photo by Sylvestermouse
Brewster - Photo by Sylvestermouse



1927 Ford Model T

When we reached the Ford Model T, I felt I was in more familiar territory, simply because I have heard of a Model T before.  I have never ridden in one and it is considerably older than I am.  Yet, it looks like it is in a lot better condition.

Ford Model T - Photo by Sylvestermouse
Ford Model T - Photo by Sylvestermouse

Clearly with over 100 cars, I can't show you all of them.  If you like the cars featured in this article, you should definitely visit the Tupelo Automobile Museum.  There are dozens more that are just as beautiful and just as interesting as the ones I have shared.  You will note that I focused on cars from the first quarter of the century, but there are decades of cars that followed and are on display in the museum.



Inside the Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Sylvestermouse
Inside the Tupelo Automobile Museum - Photo by Sylvestermouse


The Gift Shop in the Tupelo Automobile Museum

For those of you who really are not interested in looking at the cars, or who have seen all you wish to see long before your partner has, there is a huge gift shop.  It is beautifully arranged and full of wonderful gift or souvenir items.



 See More Photography Reviews On
ReviewThisPhotography.com!

 

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner