Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Sunday, October 7, 2018

Should I Use a Knee Brace Support for My Arthritis

When it comes to physical aids, I'm a bit stubborn. After suffering long enough, I finally broke down and answered the above question honestly. Yes, the answer is yes.

On a really bad day, technically I need a walker when I'm out and about, and there's no way I'm ready to consider something like that. No way. On an average bad day, I would say I could use a cane, and yep, you guessed it, no way am I using one. Well, at least at this stage.

I'm a few years into my ailment now and refuse to jump into these mobility aids at this point. On a good day I do pretty well without any aids whatsoever.

The question of whether I should use a knee brace is about those really bad and just plain bad days.


I Finally Gave In and Said Yes to a Knee Support Brace

I had tried stretchable cloth type wraps that you slip on, but found them too tight. So I opted for an actual brace support.

I went to a popular drugstore chain here in Canada called Shoppers Drug Mart. After trying on several, I ended up choosing the Formedica Adjustable Knee Support. It's important to know your knee measurements to ensure you have the right size.
In-Store Purchase from
Shoppers Drug Mart
in Canada

The price was reasonable, less than $30 Canadian. They're manufactured in Quebec, Canada. It's designed to stabilize and protect the patella (knee cap). It gives weak knee muscles and ligaments stress support.

The knee brace sat in the box until a 'really bad knee day' occurred and grocery shopping was on that to-do-list.

So off I went with my knee wrapped nice and snug.

Wowza! Was I ever wrong about holding off to get one.

On a bad knee day, grocery shopping is brutal. With the knee wrap, it's 50 percent better than without it. Of course I still have pain, but the knee brace wrap provides the support needed to walk confidently without feeling I'm damaging it further, or that I'll fall.


EXOUS Knee Brace Support Protector - Relieves Patella Tendonitis - Jumpers Knee Mensicus Tear - ACL Lateral & Medial Ligament Sprains Comfort Design True Non-Slip FIT for Arthritis - Sport - RunningEXOUS Knee Brace Support Protector - Relieves Patella Tendonitis - Jumpers Knee Mensicus Tear - ACL Lateral & Medial Ligament Sprains Comfort Design True Non-Slip FIT for Arthritis - Sport - RunningMy Online Store Choice Would Have Been EXOUS Knee Support Protector

If you're in the market to get a knee wrap via online shopping, this brand is quite popular.

It's available on Amazon and best of all when you visit the product page, you'll see a handy video that tells you everything you need to know about the product, including how to measure for the right size.

Although I haven't tried this product, after doing some research, it was my online pick based on features and price.

If you have bum knees, don't hold off getting a knee brace support. Personally speaking, they've really helped me on those not so perfect days.




The Obvious Statement:

I'm not a doctor, so of course, anything medical related you should seek the advice of a professional. There I said it.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Bagster Review

Have you ever started a home improvement project and found the debris begins taking on a life and area of its' own?  Improving one's home can be like opening Pandora's Box; one never knows what you will find lurking in, under, or behind an older home which brings the inevitable problem of how to dispose of construction debris.

We recently demolished an old and small wooden deck. Somehow the little deck turned into a very large pile of debris which seemed to keep growing and growing. Remodeling can be like cutting your own bangs; once you start it is hard to stop. Since we were demolishing the deck... well, of course we should cut down the old unwieldy bush and then could not ignore the well worn railroad ties around the garden bed which had outlived their usefulness.


Where and how to dispose of all these goodies? Even though the pile kept growing the size did not warrant renting a dumpster. At the suggestion of the carpenter the Bagster was investigated to help unload our pile of construction debris.


What Is The Bagster?

The Bagster is a disposable bag which can hold up to 3,300 pounds of debris or waste. The purchase of the Bagster allows access to the Bagster Pick Up and Disposal Service operated by Waste Management. It is an on demand debris removal also referred to as a dumpster in a bag.



Dumpster or Bagster

In my area it is difficult to rent a small dumpster due to the booming construction industry for both pros and DIYers. Small dumpsters are difficult to rent and one must also have the room to park the dumpster.

It was clear when the deck (it looked so small) was being removed and parked on the lawn this was more construction debris then anticipated. The pike kept growing ! Who knew such a little deck could produce so much construction debris? The dirt was also filled with concrete from the original construction of the house over 50 years ago.

Now what? Enter the Bagster.




Where To Find The Bagster

I purchased the Bagster from Amazon  for $29.95. For our project we needed 1.5 Bagsters so of course not wanting to pass up the opportunity to clean out the garage we made great use of the remaining area in the Bagster.


Note: Review the Do’s and Dont's as to the type of materials accepted in the Bagster. We had old pieces of odd shaped concrete which had been hanging around the garage for years we happily filled up the remainder of the Bagster. Actually everything we wanted to put into the Bagster was on the Do list for our area.

Schedule The Bagster Pick Up

The system worked flawlessly. I used the online scheduler at approximately midnight on a Monday. I received a confirmation email of the order and subsequent emails throughout the progress of my order through the process.On Wednesday morning at approximately 5:30 am I heard a rumble outside and it was the very large crane/truck arriving to pick up the 2 Bagsters. Shortly after the pick up I received an email completing the process.

Pricing Of the Bagster Pick Up

The pricing of the Bagster and debris removal is two fold: the cost of the Bagster plus the cost of the removal by Waste Management. The cost varies per area and the flat rate can be obtained on the Bagster website. Two Bagsters plus the pick up charge was lower than the cost of renting a small dumpster and so much more convenient!

The Yellow Bagster Handles

The Bagster deceptively indeed holds ALOT of debris.It is critical the yellow handles “touch” for the Bagster to be picked up by the truck as a large crane must be able to lift the
Bagster up by grabbing the handles.


This information is clearly stated on the Bagster bag instructions and the website and do not ignore! 

Coupons

Online scheduling allows a customer to take advantage of a discount off the pick up price of more than one Bagster. Coupons are also available online by searching Bagster coupons.

Recommendation 

I highly recommend the Bagster. It worked flawlessly from start to finish. I’m still surprised how much construction debris can fit into one Bagster. Quick, convenient and on demand debris removal fit our construction project perfectly.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Skeleton Cat Halloween Decor Reviewed

Fun Cat Decor For Halloween

black cat
Black Cat image from Pixabay.com
A slightly different Halloween decoration for this year would be a skeleton cat. Let me review one for you this year and you can decide if it is something you would want to add to your decorating this year. 

Black cats are often associated with Halloween. That is a bad rap for those beautiful creatures, I know. Unfortunately, most tales of the spooky persuasion involve a cat (often black) in them. Witches and magicians often have a familiar in the form of a cat. One can sort of see why because a cat when angered can be pretty darned frightening whether it is Halloween or not. I digress.

A few years back a very popular decoration for the night of trick or treats was the flamingos that were skeletons or devils. I thought those were hysterically funny! Actually, I think that if one looks they can still find those available. Perhaps you aren't into those majestic birds as a part of your yard decor but you do want a skeleton theme or at least a few skeletons in the overall plan. Of course, we can find human skeletons but gosh everyone has at least one of those. How about something different? Hmmm? 

I have found a fun and different option for this year's night of fright! A skeleton cat and rat can be placed in my yard or beside the door. Now, before you go getting all bent out of shape thinking that a cat skeleton is kind of cruel, hear me out. First of all, I absolutely love cats. I have one that adopted me years ago and I love her dearly. Still, I think having a skeleton cat at the door greeting my little trick or treaters is a funny idea. It is not something that they would expect to see. I think after the first shock of seeing one they will probably laugh. I know I will when I see them jump! A little wicked of me, I suppose. 

Since I know that my own cat will not even consider sitting by the door to hiss and arch her back (she is one big scaredy cat with strangers); this option appeals to me. It might even be funny to dress as a witch and hold the skeleton in my arms, petting it like it is still alive. 

What do you think? Is it over the top or just the right amount of whimsy for decorating this year?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, October 1, 2018

Reviewing Vistaprint for Business Cards

Business cards from Vistaprint
I am in the process of starting a small business. An Etsy store to offer my crocheted items to an audience beyond my circle of friends. In this beginning stage of the process, I quickly decided that I wanted a "business card" to include with my sold items. I chose Vistaprint and am thrilled with the service and product they provided. So thrilled that I'm writing this review to share the information with you.


Vistaprint - The "Everything to Market Your Business" Site


I see the Vistaprint commercials frequently. This constant advertising is why I checked out their site first. Sheer laziness on my part. I ordered with some skepticism - as some businesses that advertise the most are not the best. But I am glad I ordered my cards from Vistaprint. Before I start rambling, the mini-review is:

  • Super easy-to-navigate website
  • Many business card styles to choose from
  • Choices ranging from completely designed by you (including your own photo) or use one of the existing designs
  • Preview function that shows you exactly what you have created
  • Fast service (ordered on 8/22 and received on 8/29) even with standard shipping


My Business Cards


I knew I wanted a somewhat "rustic" design. The purpose of the card would be a thank you and continued advertising with my store URL. I needed a thicker paperstock as I would be punching a hole in many of the cards and attaching them to my handmade item with a ribbon.

I was able to choose rounded corners (to avoid snags in my yarn), "standard glossy" front of card (to add to the durability of the card), and print on the back of the card (for a more personal message). Not feeling creative enough to design my own card, I quickly found one of their templates. The overall front design of the template was not adjustable, but I could add customize with my store name.  I could also choose a couple of color variations.  Scroll to the very bottom of this article to see a very small sample of some of the designs. 

The back of the card allows for print. So I added the personalized printed message I wanted. The back of my card is not glossy paper.


I had expected to receive flimsy, poor-quality business cards (like the ones we have at work). Instead, I received cards that I am thrilled with. I paid $25.58 for 100 cards and shipping. 

I will continue my orders with Vistaprint, adding fabric care cards to my packaging. I have also begun to consider purchasing postcards for advertising after seeing all of the fantastic design possibilities.

If you are in need of business cards and other paper products for your business, I highly recommend Vistaprint

finished and ready for delivery - with card attached


Related Links:

Our own Tracey (The Savvy Age) recently reviewed a free online logo maker called DesignEvo. If you feel more confident in your creative abilities than I do mine, DesignEvo Free Logo Maker may be a great site to use. I LOVE the logo she created in "2.5 minutes". 

My Etsy Store. My goal is to retire at The Shack; tending my garden, chickens, and land. That retirement dream includes sitting in a rocking chair on the deck and crocheting. If that crochet adds a very small bit of retirement income (aka more money for yarn) all the better. 


an extremely small sample of some of the existing business card designs on Vistaprint




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, September 28, 2018

Inexpensive Disposable Rain Ponchos Reviewed

Inenpensive Disposable Rain Ponchos Reviewed
Rain Ponchos can save the day!  When you are at an outdoor event and it starts to rain, would you pay $1.75 to stay dry and continue enjoying the outing?  Most of us would be happy to give a very small fee to anyone selling a rain cover for our hair, clothing, totes, and cameras. 

We recently went to an outdoor arts and crafts fair. We had planned our attendance for over a month and I was pretty excited when the day finally arrived.  I enjoy walking around, looking at all of the new crafts talented people have made and are willing to sell.  I admit, I don't always buy a lot, but I still love going.  Plus, pronto pups seem to call me from miles away.  In our region, there is always a pronto pup stand (or two) at every outdoor event. 

What I don't like, is to get caught in the rain unprepared.  A wonderful day outdoors can quickly become a horrible experience that includes mass numbers of fleeing bodies, followed by ridiculous traffic jams of cars filled with wet humans anxious to get home and get dry.  However, armed with a handy disposable rain poncho, I can cover myself quickly, then stand back and watch the attendees desert an event, leaving me and the few other prepared attendees, enjoying a much less crowded function.


Why I Carry Disposable Rain Ponchos to Outdoor Events


 Rain Poncho: Disposable Emergency Rain Ponchos
for Adults  
Including Drawstring Hood and Thick Material
(10 Pack, Clear)
Check Price
Let me use the arts and crafts fair as an example.  The tents are set up and tables are filled with wonderful handmade creations and art.  These types of events cannot be postponed due to a little rain.  Toss a few thousand people in and you have crowded streets.  Everyone is laughing and having fun, but it is hard to see all of the tables.  Some of the most popular tables are completely surrounded by people who are taller than me.  Then it happens!  The promised rain comes and people start leaving in droves, some actually jogging to their cars.  

Within 30 minutes, the crafts fair and 100+ tables covered with wonderful things, belongs to me and a hundred or so prepared festival attendees.  It becomes extremely easy to visit each table and really thoroughly peruse the merchandise.  Even when the rain stops, few people return to the event.

Oh, and with the rain ponchos, my hands are free to eat, drink & shop!

Recommended Disposable Rain Ponchos   

I prefer the disposable rain ponchos for several reasons.
  1. Easily carry a prepackaged rain poncho in jeans back pockets, purses, vests, backpacks, etc. and pull it out if needed.
  2. Toss a wet rain poncho directly in the trash, even before getting in the car.  Thereby avoiding getting seats and automobile interior wet.
  3. Rain Ponchos cover my hair, clothes, and everything I have around my neck (like my camera) or that I may be carrying.
  4. Featured Rain Ponchos have drawstrings in the hood for fit 
  5. Easily keep 3 or 4 in the glove compartment of the car to be handy when needed.

One Note:  If you purchase the featured ponchos, be sure you tie a knot in the ends of the strings in the hood.  Otherwise, they will come right out and the hood will be hard to keep up.


Where to Use a Disposable Rain Poncho

 Rain Poncho: Disposable Emergency Rain Ponchos for Adults In Bulk Including Drawstring Hood and Thick Material
(5 Pack for Colors or 10 pack for Clear)
Check Price

  • Any Outdoor Festival or Event
  • Outdoor Sports Events
  • Fairs, Amusement Parks, Disneyworld  (great for water rides!)
  • Outdoor Concerts
  • Camping
  • Hiking
  • Zoos 
  • Botanical Gardens 
  • School Field Trips
  • Vacations when packing limits apparel
  • Protect Halloween Costumes when Trick-or-Treating
  • Even indoor events when you just need to get to your car without getting wet!

If you pay an admission fee, do you really want to leave simply because of rain?


Additional Rain Ponchos Available - Choose Your Favorite!



Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Pumpkin Carving Kit Reviewed

Carve A Pumpkin Like A Pro

carved pumpkins
Carved Pumpkins image courtesy of Pixabay.com
It is just about time to start our pumpkin carving for Halloween this year. Did you know that there are kits that will help you carve like a pro? Let's review an option that is available to help us go from a lame looking jack-o-lantern to a creation that will make the jaws of our little trick or treating visitors drop in wonder.

Over the year's I have tried to be creative in my pumpkin carving endeavors. There has not been many times that I could exclaim, "Nailed It!" In fact, most years I am afraid that it was more of an occasion to bow my head in shame with a sincere "Fail". 

I know that in year's past the problem has been that I didn't have the proper tools to accomplish my goal. It really takes more than a hope to carve something cool. Honestly, it takes more than a couple of carving knives from the kitchen to do it, also. So, this year I plan to try a pumpkin carving kit. 

First, I am going to ask my sweet hubby to sketch a neat design. He is a pretty good artist so I will leave that part to him. The kit includes a tool that I can then use to poke little holes around the design. That should help me use the special carving blades to cut around the design. There are blades that have larger teeth for the heaving cutting and blades that are finer that can be used for the detail work and the smaller areas of his design. 

Of course there is that messy part of scooping out all of the insides of the pumpkin. Yuk! The kit also has a large scraper and scooping tool that should make that job much easier. 

Once the pumpkin carving is complete and I have cleaned up all of the tools; I will have a nice little bag to store all of the supplies in for the next year. Hopefully, I can have a jack-o-lantern on my front porch to be proud of and I can say that we did it ourselves. 


What do you think? Does a kit to carve your pumpkins for Halloween seem like a wise choice or are you one of those gifted people who can do it with the tools you already have?


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, September 24, 2018

Reviewing Mrs. Meyer's Soap

Reviewing Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day products.
My son and daughter-in-law use Mrs. Meyer's soaps and cleaning products. It has been during visits to their home that I've used Mrs. Meyer's products. I like the soaps and have ordered my own. Mrs. Meyer's is a line of cleaning products and hand soaps that are made with essential oils rather than harsh chemicals. I like products with essential oils - and try to avoid chemicals if I can.


Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day


Mrs. Meyer is a real person, not just a brand name/gimmick. Her site lists her as an Iowa homemaker and mother of NINE. The story goes that her daughter was shopping household cleaners and wanted something that "cleaned like the dickens" and smelled good. Oh boy, I can relate to that. I want clean, but why does the chemical stench have to come along with the clean?  Good news, it doesn't.
"Lets make cleaners that smell nice, like my mom's garden, but still work like the dickens on daily dirt and grime." - from Mrs. Meyers - Our Story
While visiting, I used Mrs. Meyers hand soap (sunflower) and the Lemon Verbena dish soap. I liked both very much and have since ordered my own. The dish soap worked well with degreasing. And the hand soap did not dry my hands. And like many essential oil products, the scent is "nature" and does not trigger my migraines.
radish

My daughter-in-law has since added "radish" to her collection and lists that as her favorite. Because she has such good taste in cleaning products, I've ordered radish dish soap for myself. 

I prefer natural products for not only my health, but also for the environment. When camping, my used water is thrown out onto the ground. While I am slowly making the transition to more chemical-free products in my apartment, I use natural products almost exclusively when camping. I am thrilled to add Mrs. Meyer's soaps to my supplies.

Important note: You can order your Mrs. Meyer's soaps directly from their website or from Amazon. I ordered from both sites. I do want to recommend that you check out the prices on both sites, as I saved several dollars ordering from Amazon.  I saved $3 with the coupon and $6 on shipping with Amazon Prime. 


Related Links:

My preference for soaps made of essential oils began long ago with my love of Dr. Bronner's Castile peppermint soap. For my review of that soap (I most often use it for bathing, camping chores, and migraine relief) click here

Our Louanne is our Arbonne essential oils expert. Maybe you are farther along in the essential oils and aromatherapy journey than I am and need a regular supply of essential oils. If that is the case, check out Louanne's Essential Oil Holiday Set article or scroll down through her list of articles to find information about specific oils or a variety of uses for the oils. 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, September 21, 2018

Animal Shaped Memo Clip Holder Note Pad Dispenser Organizer Review

Animal Shaped Memo Clip Holder Note Pad Dispenser Organizer Review
I am always writing little notes and reminders for myself, as well as for my family.  These little notes help me tremendously to stay on schedule.   They also serve as reminders to take out the trash or refill a prescription, or other mundane chores I would rather forget.  I rely heavily on them everyday.  Sometimes I even write myself a little reminder about an upcoming holiday so I can remember when offices and stores are closed.  That helps me avoid being annoyed if I try to reach someone on business only to get an answering machine.  Needless to say, my laptop is often decorated with colorful post-its.  

Until recently, I didn't have a great place to leave a note for a family member, or for something that was unrelated to my computer work.  Seemed like my little notes ended up on the floor or covered by other "stuff" rendering them useless.

That was all before I bought my rabbit memo clip holder!


My Rabbit Memo Clip & Note Pad Holder


To say I love animals, would be an understatement.  I have rabbits, mice, squirrels, bears and even a giraffe included in my home decor surroundings.   They are beautifully displayed on pillows, afghans, magnets, and more.  Plus, I have cookie jars and teapots in the shape of animals.  Not to mention my beloved plush animals that decorate my craft room and our bedroom.

 Chris-Wang Multi-functional Plastic Animal Figure Memo Clip Holder Stand Note Pad Dispenser Organizer, With 200 SheetsCheck PriceOne day I was browsing Amazon, searching for shaped post-its when I spied a  rabbit shaped clip holder.  Yes, I had to have that memo clip holder!  

Now, my pretty blue rabbit chomps down on my daily reminders, receipts, or even my outgoing mail.  She keeps those slips of paper and envelopes front and center on my kitchen counter.  Therefore, the notes are no longer "lost" under other things or blowing to the floor unnoticed.  My blue rabbit has become my most useful home office helper.  

She also features a cut out space that is the perfect size for a pad of post-its.  She came with a blue note pad, but once they were all gone, I replaced them with a pad of post-its.  She can hold a post-it as well as any slip of paper.  I simply use post-its more often, but someone else might well prefer the less expensive note pad replacements.

In addition to the blue rabbit style that I selected, there is also a dinosaur, a giraffe, a donkey, a elephant and a hippo available.  I have to sit on my hands to keep from buying them all.  I think they are all adorable, but I really only have a place for one and I have a special affinity for rabbits.  However, you might prefer one of the other animal shaped memo holders so I have displayed them all below. 

 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, September 15, 2018

Review of a Beach Dish Towel by Primitives by Kathy


Beach Dish Towel by Primitives by Kathy Review

I have lived on the Georgia coast for nearly 20 years and during that time my 'kids' and grandkids have frequently been to visit. My daughter, especially, loves the beach and the ocean and often wishes she could see it every day.  Since that is not possible for someone living in the Midwest, I thought this beach towel would make the perfect gift for her as a little reminder of her favorite 'beach days'. 

As soon as I saw this dish towel, I knew it was perfect for Kimberly.  The saying reflects words I have heard her wistfully say on days when she wishes the most for another beach day. 



I cannot adult today. If anyone needs me
I'll be at the beach building Sand Castles

Primitives by Kathy offers a number of different dish towels with beach themes, but this one is  my favorite.  It shows a sandcastle on a blue background with wavy lines top and bottom and the words are SO Kimberly! 



Primitives by Kathy


Kathy, and her  mother, had a paint studio and retail store in Lancaster, PA for over 10 years.  They always searched for unique and creative items for their shop. Then one day in 1997 Kathy decided to create a handmade “primitive candle box”.  That one product began what was to become a very successful business. 

In the next 20 years, Primitives by Kathy grew from 1 product to over 8,000 and today the company has a team of over 150 talented industry experts and is ranked in the top 25 of the fastest-growing women owned businesses in the world. 

Primitives by Kathy is now primarily a wholesale company for stores. I found this particular dish towel in the gift department of my local Ace Hardware, which carries a number of unique and creative handmade products such as this one. Being a proponent of handmade items myself, I greatly admire products such as these that Kathy offers.  

Visit her website Primitives by Kathy to learn more about her company and see her wide range of interesting and useful home décor items. 

In addition to selling wholesale, many of Kathy's products are now available on Amazon and range from decorative signs and boxes to coasters and dish towels to a large variety of home and kitchen décor items. Or check your local gift stores, as I did, to find these interesting items. 


Another Favorite Beach Theme Dish Towel


Available on Amazon

Besides the dishtowel I got my daughter, one of my other favorites is a dish towel with the saying “We're at the Beach ~ Kitchen Closed”.  Here on the Georgia Coast, we have a LOT of 'beach days'. 


Dish Towels as a Decor Item


I love finding the perfect gift for a relative or friend, and I am also thrilled to find a unique item such as this dish towel I purchased for my daughter.  I can just picture how special her memories of the beach will be every time she sees this beach-themed dish towel hanging in her kitchen. 

So leave the ordinary behind when you are searching for an accent item for your home décor or for a creative and clever gift item. 








(c) Wednesday Elf




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Halloween Spider Poncho Reviewed

Easy Halloween Costume Idea For Women

spider in web
Spider In Web image courtesy of Pixabay.com
Before you know it Halloween will be upon us. Reviewing a Spider Poncho is my self-imposed task for today. It makes for a simple costume to wear this year whether you are going to a costume party or just taking your little "ghouls" out for trick or treating. It is also something that can be worn in future years by yourself or even the children as they grow.

I like the idea of using a poncho as a way to be festive because it can serve two purposes. If it looks like a spider and it's web it of course fits the costume criteria. If the weather happens to be cool (it most likely will be) then it will also  help to keep you warm. The added bonus is that you can throw it over the top of whatever you are wearing making the getting ready task short and simple. You will not have to spend hours getting yourself ready besides dressing the kiddos.

Of course you can embellish the look in a lot of different ways. Add a black wig and use some goth looking make-up. It might be fun to add some fake webbing to the wig, too! Wear black boots if you have them or just throw on a pair of black jeans. You can make it as easy as you want or really get creative to look like a walking spider web.

I started looking for something to do with spiders for this year because I have kind of become obsessed with arachnids since I published my first two books. If you happen to have read one or both, you know that spiders play a role in a minor way with both Charlotte and Clay. As I am writing the third in the series, spiders will once again creep into the story line.

So, if you are looking for something fun yet simple to dress-up in this Halloween; I recommend something like a Spider Poncho that will be easy on your wallet and to wear. Have you begun to think of what you will dress like this year?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, September 9, 2018

3 Items to Help Get the Kids Moving Faster in the Morning

Review of Specific Products to Help Speed Up the Kids in the Morning

There are numerous blogging tips on things you can do to speed up the little ones.

However, rather than rehash the standard suggestions, below are physical items you can include in your day.

1. Getting The Kids Out of Bed with Clocky

Those little sleepy heads can be a handful to wake-up. Take your troubles, and hand them over to a fun alarm clock. Clocky turns waking up in the morning into an annoyingly laughable event.

The kids get one chance to hit snooze, then Clocky jumps off the dresser making fun noises while it rolls around the bedroom. With Clocky, the days of multiple snooze button taps are over.

The kids have to get out of bed to shut it off.

2. Make the Beds with Zip-Up Bedding

Professional bed making doesn't come close to making the list when you and the kids have to be out the door by a certain time. However, there is a way to get them to make their beds without taking forever.

Try Zip-Up Bedding. It will speed up the bed making process while teaching the kids responsibility. Zip-Up bedding is exactly what it says; it zips up. There are no sheets to tuck in and no blankets to pull wrinkles out of.

The kids just get-up and zip-up.

3. Set a Deadline Using a Calendar with Reward/Completion Stickers

Stickers alone won't do it. Having the kids put a completion sticker on a calendar isn't enough incentive: You need to give them a deadline. In other words, the sticker needs to be placed on the calendar by "x time" in the morning.

Only when the tasks are completed, can they put their sticker on the calendar.

Here are some items for the kids 'getting-ready' list (Things to do before putting that sticker on the calendar):
  • Got out of bed
  • Got dressed and cleaned
  • Made the bed
  • School bag packed (if applicable)
Depending on your child's age, you can add more or less to the list.
Chore Chart for Kids - Magnetic Reward Calendar Board - Dry Erase Schedule Responsibility Charts - Toddler Behavior - Wall Sticker Rewards Magnets - Multiple Toddlers Family - Potty Training PlannerChore Chart for Kids - Magnetic Reward Calendar Board - Dry Erase Schedule Responsibility Charts - Toddler Behavior - Wall Sticker Rewards Magnets - Multiple Toddlers Family - Potty Training Planner
By giving the kids a time that the completion stickers are to be placed on the calendar, you're teaching them about deadlines.

If they don't get downstairs in time to put the sticker on the calendar as per your schedule, then stand firm and don't permit them to place their sticker for that day.

The calendar becomes a way of tallying how they're meeting the morning deadlines.

Don't make it a competition between siblings. The goal is for each child to improve their own habits, not to make them feel bad if their sibling is faster than they are. 

At the end of the month count up the stickers and give them a prize for their effort. That prize could be whatever works for your family; a trip to the park, a movie, an evening out to eat, pizza ordered in and so on. You decide.

Here's to your family getting out the door on time!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, September 7, 2018

Clorox 2 Free & Clear Laundry Stain Remover & Color Booster Reviewed

Clorox 2 Reviewed
I now add Clorox 2 to Every Load of Laundry!

Almost 2 years ago, we were forced to buy a new washing machine because our 20+ year old machine could no longer be repaired.  I was not at all prepared for what we discovered when shopping for a new laundry washer.  The newer models no longer have an agitator in the tub of the machine.  Many of you may have already discovered that during your own shopping quests, but I was shocked.

With a height of only 5' 2", I found I could not reach the bottom of the washing machine tubs on the display floor.  The salesman recommended I use a step stool.  Ugh, no!  I was not going to use a step stool to remove the washed laundry from my machine with every load of laundry, every day.  

I finally found a Kenmore washing machine at the 3rd store that had a sloped front inside the machine so I could actually reach the bottom of the tub when leaning in.  So, I thought problem solved.  I didn't expect the next problem at all.


Adding Clorox 2 to Our Wash 


Clorox 2 Free & Clear Laundry Stain Remover & Color Booster Reviewed
Washing Machine with No Agitator Requires Clorox 2
Our new machine arrived and I was thrilled to be able to wash clothes again.  That is, until I smelled the first few loads of washed laundry.  For a while, I was able to convince myself that it was because the machine was new.  It was not!  

Oh, how I missed my agitator washing machine!!!  My clean clothes smelled musty, which made me think they were not clean.

I tried adding vinegar to every load.  It seemed to help some, but I could still smell traces of that nasty musty smell.  Using a scented detergent might have worked, but I'm not keen on covering one smell with another.  Plus, I am allergic to most scented detergents.  Actually, I am allergic to all scented detergents that I have ever tried, but I said "most" simply because there might be one I could use that I have never tried.

Finally, after a year of hating the smell of our clean clothes and being clueless what to do other than buy another new machine, I spied the Clorox 2 on the grocery shelf.  I had used it years ago as a color booster so I knew I was safe to try it again.  Glory be!  It actually worked!!!  

Not only does it help maintain the color of our clothes, but it actually cleans away that musty smell.  Once again, our clothes, bed linens and towels smell clean.

 Clorox 2 Free & Clear Laundry Stain Remover & Color BoosterCheck PriceThank you Clorox 2 for giving me back clean, and not stinky, clothes & linens!

How I Use Clorox 2

I measure only to the first line on the  cup lid of Clorox 2 and add it in with my regular washing detergent.  That way, it lasts a lot longer, but still does the job.

If you find you are experiencing the same issue with the new agitatorless washing machines, or if you want a color booster for your clothes, I highly recommend Clorox 2.  I do prefer the "Fragrance & Dye Free" option, but decades ago I did use the regular scent and didn't have any problems with it.  I should note, I cannot touch bleach without having an allergic reaction, or even smell it without getting an extreme headache, but the Clorox 2 doesn't bother me at all. 

Here's to having clean, vibrant, and fresh smelling clothes!



 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Ryka Devo Plus 2 Walking Shoes - Review

Ryka Devo Plus 2 Walking Shoes Review
As a lifelong athlete and former coach, I have learned there is one thing we should never skimp on: our footwear.  This is true for anyone with an active lifestyle.  If your feet aren't happy, it's almost impossible to enjoy such simple pleasures as a revitalizing walk in a beautiful park.  Recently, when I began preparing with my dog, Finn, for a charity walking event, I could tell it was time to replace my worn-out running shoes.  My knees and hips were sore after every three-mile workout.  Fortunately, I was able to quickly alleviate my joint pain and discomfort by switching to a new pair of Ryka Devo Plus 2 walking shoes.  I'd like to share with you why this is my fifth purchase of Ryka shoes.

If you haven't discovered the Ryka brand yet, you are in for a treat.  First and foremost, Ryka is a company specializing in footwear for women.  It makes all the difference in the world when such an important product is customized for the female anatomy.  Until I found Ryka, my super sensitive feet suffered when forced into shoes that were essentially men's footwear sized down for women.  For a long time, that was really the only option we had.

Imagine my delight, then, when I tried on my first pair of Ryka training shoes.  My feet were ecstatic.  For the first time in, well, forever, blisters, sore heels, and aching arches were a thing of the past.  Fast forward to today — nearly 15 years and thousands of miles since buying my first Ryka fitness shoes.  Having previously owned four pairs of their running and cross-training shoes, it was time to purchase a pair specifically geared towards walking.  In case you are wondering, yes, it does make a difference when you wear shoes made for a particular activity.

It was easy to choose the Ryka Devo (Devotion) Plus 2 walking shoes.  They are wildly popular and are a best-seller on Amazon.  As I skimmed through a sampling of hundreds of five-star rated reviews, it was apparent why so many women are totally devoted to this particular Ryka shoe.  As soon as my new shoes arrived, I joined the legion of fans.

Right out of the box I experienced something quite rare: no break-in period with the Devo Plus 2 shoes.  Amazingly, I was able to immediately walk for miles without my usual knee pain.  What a relief!  Here are a few additional things I love about my new Ryka walking shoes:

  1. Luxurious cushioning.
  2. So lightweight I barely know I am wearing shoes.
  3. Breathable mesh that keeps my feet perfectly cool.
  4. My feet feel refreshed even after a 12-hour day on the go.
And did I mention all the great color options?  I went with the navy/teal combo, which goes so well with my typical casual wardrobe.  I have a feeling you will be drawn to one of these pleasing color choices: black/purple, blue/pink, white/blue, grey/coral, plum/turquoise, grey/teal, black/pink, or navy/teal.  I like several of these combinations.

As you can probably tell,  I highly recommend the Ryka Women's Devo Plus 2 walking shoes.  I am completely satisfied with their value, excellent quality, and the great deal I got on Amazon (25% off retail and free two-day shipping).  When you check out additional buyer comments, by following any of the links in this review, you will learn that many women have made this shoe their preferred everyday work shoe (like nurses and other professionals who spend a lot of time on their feet every day).  Having worn these shoes daily now for about a month, I am not surprised.  Have you tried the Ryka brand?  If so, I hope you will share your experience.  Thanks for stopping by!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, August 17, 2018

Wimaha Automatic Soap Dispenser for Your Home Reviewed

 Wimaha Automatic Soap Dispenser for Your Home Reviewed
I recently visited my daughter and son-in-law in their new home.  They have automatic soap dispensers in both bathrooms and two touchless soap dispensers in their kitchen.  The second soap dispenser in their kitchen is for dishwashing liquid, which is actually really convenient.  

Previously, the only time I had ever used a touchless soap dispenser was in restaurant restrooms.  I have always thought they were wonderful.  After all, do we really want to touch  the exact spot others have touched after they have used the restroom?  In spite of the fact that I logically realize I would be washing away all germs when I wash my own hands, it always seemed a little gross to me.   Anytime I see automatic soap dispensers in public places, I am thrilled.  In my opinion, they are only topped by the automatic faucets.  I truly love not having to touch anything in restrooms!  Now that I think about it, automatic restroom doors would be fabulous.

After being introduced to them, I want a Wimaha automatic soap dispenser for each bathroom in my own home and two for the kitchen!  



The Wimaha Automatic Touchless Soap Dispenser


Wimaha Automatic Sensor Soap Dispenser
My daughter chose the Wimaha automatic soap dispenser for their home.  I did giggle a little when I first saw it.  The sleek modern design of the dispenser reminded me of something from a Star Wars movie.  

It was pretty cool to simply place my hand under the dispensing nozzle and have soap automatically come out without having to touch anything.  The built-in sensor worked beautifully and knew exactly when to release a moderate amount of liquid soap.  My son-in-law told me he had it set for minimum soap, which was the perfect amount for washing hands.  Therefore, the dispenser also keeps us from wasting soap by not pumping too much onto our hands.

The Wimaha touchless soap dispenser works with four AAA batteries, so there are no ugly electrical cords in the way or that need to be hidden.  The batteries are not included.

I can hardly wait for my own Wimaha automatic soap dispensers to arrive!


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Anniversary Gifts For Him Reviewed

Celebrating Your Marriage

Anniversary Wine image courtesy of Pixabay.com
My husband and I are about to celebrate our 20th Anniversary so I have been looking for gifts for him and I thought I would share some of the finds with you today. Although the ones that I sought out were for a specific milestone, most of these anniversary gifts would work for any year. 

I don't know about your special sweetie but mine is rather difficult to buy for. If he sees something that he wants, he just goes out and buys it. If you ask him for ideas, he says that a gift card is just fine. Well, dang it; gift cards are not much fun to give! Sure, they are practical and the person can spend them on whatever they want but there just isn't any excitement in the entire process. Since a couple doesn't celebrate a milestone of 20 years but once; I want to give him something better than a gift card. I plan to give him several small gifts instead of one big one.

One gift idea that I think he will really appreciate is a new wallet. Now, hold on! I saw you roll your eyes! This isn't just any wallet, it has an inscription on it that I think will make him smile and think of me every time he takes it out. 

We both enjoy watching the birds in our back yard. He likes to sit in the chair at our table that looks out at your yard. So I found a terrific coffee mug that he can use in the morning while he drinks his coffee and eats his breakfast. I chose one that says "Sharing the nest for 20 years." I won't show you a picture of it because they are just about sold out of that one. There were several options for an anniversary sentiment if it is something that you would like to give to your dear hubby. Getting a mug might seem a rather silly choice but in this case it fits with the tradition of the 20th anniversary being the year for giving china as a gift.

My sweet man wears a lot of t-shirts so I found one that fits our anniversary for him to wear. It has the sentiment of "Cruising together for 20 years". We don't go on ship cruises but we have cruised through life together quite happily. We used to cruise down the back roads just enjoying the ride and each other so that shirt just seemed to fit. I am sure you could find one that fits your marriage, too.




I'm still shopping around because my thought is that I will give him 20 gifts to open on our anniversary. There are so many things that I think will say, "I love you" in both romantic and humorous ways. I do like to pick whimsical things for him because that is one of the things that brought us together and has held us together; laughter. He has always made me laugh even when we were kids in school. Before we started dating, he came to me as a friend to help me heal from the loss of my first husband. He was so very sweet (still is!) in offering his shoulder for me to cry on. He made sure to tell me a joke or a funny story every time he called or stopped by. He still tells me jokes and funny stories and I still laugh. It is one of the many things that I love about him; his sense of humor.

In my search, I have found some key chains and different items that have anniversary sentiments on them that I think you will find easily too. Personally, most of those 20 gifts that I will give him are not necessarily traditional gifts for an anniversary. Instead, they will be little things that I know he likes. Something silly like his favorite candy bar. Think about that, when I give him his favorite it tells him that I know him well enough that I know that it is his favorite. To me something like that screams "I love you" even more than the words do. I know when he comes home grinning and hands me my favorite chocolate treat that it is yet another way that he is telling me that I am still the love of his life. He doesn't need to say the words at that point. I know because he obviously thought of me and wanted to make me smile.

So, I guess my point is that when it comes to finding anniversary gifts for him that it doesn't have to be something one might think of as a traditional gift. It honestly, doesn't even have to be something that you purchase. Perhaps fixing him his most favorite meal is something he will find very romantic because you made it for him and knew that it was his favorite. I think that it becomes easier when you think of your man and why you fell for him and still fall for him and know what will make him happy. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.