Showing posts with label Music Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Music Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, November 3, 2017

Thanksgiving Canon, A Hymn for the Ages

Thanksgiving Canon~Wondrous Thanksgiving Music!

Thanksgiving Canon worship hymn
Why I am reviewing Thanksgiving Canon: It's my favorite Thanksgiving Hymn and I love to play it this time of year

It's great to play any day you feel like singing a praise song! The notes of Thanksgiving Canon are on the  pentatonic musical scale that is very pleasing to the spirit at the cellular level. Science has now actually  proven this. (with brain scans) So if you listen, you will feel better.

Photo is Autumn Leaves by Pixel Anarchy on Pixabay and can be found here

The Thanksgiving Canon is an old standby and we sang it as a round, ending in a sustained Amen when I was in choir growing up . When I went looking for a video of it for you, the best ones were from the Girl Scouts.

How funny, but understandable, as we sang lots of wonderful uplifting songs in my Girl Scout troop. But I did not know that the Girl Scouts have their own CD's now! So had to spend an afternoon listening to some of their renditions of some old Camping favorites! 

Below is the original sheet music that I saved from an old Choir book. I think it was from 6th grade. 


Thanksgiving Canon sheet music

Enjoy the Thanksgiving Canon and Happy Thanksgiving!


For thy gracious blessings,
For thy wondrous words,
For thy loving kindness,
We give thanks, O Lord.
~Thanksgiving Canon



About Thanksgiving Day

Thanksgiving Day is a holiday celebrated mostly in the United States and Canada. It is celebrated each year on the second Monday of October in Canada and on the fourth Thursday of November in the United States. Thanksgiving in Canada falls on the same day as Columbus Day in the United States. In ancient times, This was the Autumn Equinox festival. Man has always thanked the Creator for the harvest.

And man has always sung to celebrate everything. The Thanksgiving Canon is not only beautiful, but the sound tones are very soothing to your ear and soul. I always play it on Thanksgiving day. 

The Thanksgiving Canon Performed
Listen to This Stunning Worship Song


Thanksgiving Canon is On This Album
Thanksgiving Canon

I was a lifelong Girl Scout, who camped out every month for years, singing campfire songs into the late evening under the moon and stars. Those are some of my favorite memories. Lots of faves on this CD.




Thy mercies have been numberless;
Thy love, Thy grace, Thy care,
Were wider than our utmost need,
and higher than our prayer.
~O King of Kings



Here is the Thanksgiving Canon by Itself to Download
Thanksgiving Canon






With grateful heart
My thanks I bring,
Before the Great
Thy praise I sing;
I worship in Thy Holy place
And praise Thee
For Thy truth and grace;
For truth and grace
Together shine
In Thy most Holy Word Divine,
In Thy most Holy Word Divine.
~ Psalms 138


Thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday and I wish it would be adopted worldwide. How wonderful to be thankful, if only for a day!

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Music Reviewed on Review This

Treasures from the Archives of Review This!


 Music Reviewed on Review This!
For most of us music is a way we express ourselves. The songs we choose to listen to on any given day, are often a reflection of what we are thinking or feeling at that moment. Sometimes, we even turn on music to brighten our mood and lift our spirits. Other times, we want music that will cry with us or express that deep sense of loss that we are currently experiencing ourselves. Many couples have "their song" because the lyrics of that song say exactly what they think and how they feel. For couples who have been together for decades, just hearing the song play takes them back 

Preference in style or music genre is as varied as humans themselves.  Actually, even an individual's preference can change somewhat as they age, or experience major life changes.  For instance, someone who has always enjoyed listening to smooth love songs, doesn't want to hear the first note of a love song if they are in the midst of a break-up.  They are going to be much more likely to wish to listen to songs about revenge or moving on happily without someone.

Not only do tastes vary in style of lyrics and voice, but some people prefer instrumental music.  The beat is what touches them, or the cry of a string instrument is what soothes their heart and soul.

Like anyone, the contributors of Review This have their own personal preferences and we love to write about them!  We invite you to join us when we listen, then review our favored songs or artists.   If you see something that appeals to you in the articles shown below, simply click the image to read our review.  Pinterest automatically redirects you to the published review.  

Review This! is the very best resource for wonderful music reviews on the web!


Welcome to Our Music Library!




A Preview of the Pinterest Board - Music Reviews 


Music Reviewed on Review This!

For a written list of the music reviewed on Review This, please visit our Site Directory and select "Music" from the "Fast Click" category tabs on that page.



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisMusic.com











Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Country Songs that Celebrate Mom - Don't Miss These Beautiful Songs

The Garden Lesson - A Reminder of Life's Simple Joys
It Doesn't Have to Be Mother's Day to Let Mom Know She's Special

If you're looking for a nice tidy list of songs that tell stories about how wonderful mom really is, you'll want to scan this growing list.

To make it easier, listen to the playlist featured below. It includes songs from being thankful for mom, reflecting on life as a mom, to honoring mom's incredible strength.

Each mom is different, each life story it's own, and thus finding the right words makes song hunting a unique and personal search. In fact, choosing a song for mom can be a time consuming proposition, so be sure to scan the Playlist to save yourself some of that precious time.

This list was put together to shorten the song hunting process. Songs are always being added, so be sure to check back.


Mom may appreciate the simple thoughtful gift of a song posted on Facebook in her honor. If mom has a sense of humor, add a funny comment in the post to lighten things up.

A Song For Mom from Dad

If you're looking for a song to honor the woman in your life, here's the winner: "In Case You Didn't Know" by Brett Young.

Today, Mother's Day, my husband heard "In Case You Didn't Know" on the radio in our kitchen for the first time. He was cleaning up dishes when out blasted the words to this gorgeous song. I was sitting in the backyard when he unexpectedly popped his head out to tell me this is his song to me, then added, "the words say exactly how I feel about you".

He's generally not one to listen intently to the words of a song (quite the opposite of me), and I can't put in to words how surprised I was to hear him say this. You see, we've been together for 36 years, married for 32 of those next week, and in that one split second, I loved him all over again, in a new way if that's possible. So guys, don't underestimate the power of the little things, because it's those little things that hold the greatest value.

It was a lovely Mother's Day for me - dinner with our sons, and a quiet waltz to this song with my husband in the kitchen.



Our kitchen has heard a lot of songs, and it's floor felt the feet of a great deal of dancing over these passed 30 years - I hope yours has as well.

Happy Mother's Day




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 5, 2017

A Song About How Delicate Love Really Is - We Are Glass

(Lyrics) - "We may shine, We may shatter, We may be picking up the pieces here on after, We are fragile, We are Human, We are shaped by the light we let through us, We break fast, Cause we are Glass"

Glass by Thompson Square speaks to the delicate nature of a couple's love.

In this life our ability and willingness to love is constantly being tested.

Whether it's the love we have for our significant other, or love for people we don't know, love is constantly under attack. There's a battle between darkness and light and life's complexities often pull us in one direction or another.

"We Are Human, We Are Shaped by The Light We Let Through Us"

When we're unsure whether someone deserves our love, often that's our test. It's not easy, but who in this crazy life can say the journey from cradle to grave is easy.

What does it mean to love?

The answer may be as simple as the question.

We simply choose to.

We make that choice.

It's safe to say that very few people, past and present, have successfully pulled off unconditional love towards the human race.

What is unconditional love? It excludes the word 'But':
  • He loves me but...
  • My love is real except for...
  • I can love, but I don't forget....
  • Your love is real, but let's face it....
  • I love them when...
  • I'll forgive you but...
  • I Love you but...
The ultimate test in living our human life is to master ourselves.

There isn't a greater battle than our battle with self.

When we choose to live with love, really make that choice, it's a peace filled life.

But .... we are glass, we break fast.

(Lyrics) "We might be oil and water, this could be a big mistake, we might burn like gasoline and fire, It's a chance we'll have to take"








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair - Proceeds Donated to the Canadian Cancer Society


"I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair, Up or Down Girl, I Really Don't Care" (Lyrics)

Standing in my kitchen last Fall with the radio blasting life's lyrics from my favorite country station, the ache in these words filled the air. After hearing them, the topic of the song was clear.

Perched along side the radio, the tears flowed.  So much circling my mind from those sixteen words ... thoughts of loved ones I personally know battling cancer, and memories of those passed on.
"Phone call came in from her doctor back home
The cancer had spread and she threw down the phone
She looked in the mirror, tears running down her cheeks
Said if it all falls out, baby what would you think?" (Lyrics)
For me, there's also a personal aspect. Going through some medical challenges, the loss of my hair was a real possibility. Although I've been blessed with my dad's very thick hair, I started to lose it by the handfuls last February.

Despite this, I was one of the lucky ones. I'm managing things much better, and my hair is as thick as it's ever been again. However, the choices I had to make and am still making will forever be a part of my life. And that's ok now, for now.

There are so many levels to medical challenges. With broad smiles, or as many as we can muster, we try not to let it be an all consuming time in our life. However, the waiting hurts .. The waiting to find out; the waiting for treatment results; the waiting for procedures to be completed, and so it goes.

Strength we thought we never had, we somehow find.

And thoughts of those we love ....

What will they do if? ... how can I tell them .... circle our mind more often than we can block them.

Then yes, the thought of our hair. I cried. It isn't shallow. It's just a part of the process.

Whether the fight is cancer or a chronic disease, we know medication plays havoc on our systems, and on our hair.

But those we love and who love us, remind us:
"The heart that's inside is why I stopped and stared
I swear I didn't fall in love with your hair" (Lyrics)
To those suffering much greater battles than mine I want to hold you so tight, and make it go away.

How can we take the pain away for you? We know we can't, but we want to.

If granted one wish, mine would be magical powers to take it all away, for everyone.

I Didn't Fall In Love With Your Hair by Canadian Country Artists, Brett Kissel  & Carolyn Dawn Johnson

A Collaboration with Philanthropist W. Brett Wilson for Cancer Awareness Month in September 2016.

Released September 9th, 2016, proceeds for the song between September 9th and October 28th 2016 were donated to the Canadian Cancer Society and matched by Brett Wilson.

You can find 'I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair' on Brett Kissel's sixth studio album, Pick Me Up.








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 15, 2017

A Moving Country Song About Time Passing By - A Song Review

"Living Like that Year Book Picture Wouldn't Fade" (Lyrics)

Do you remember this time in your own life?

Just starting out .... the entire world in front of you and not a thought on your mind about the 'end' of anything.

All of it new, all of it ongoing, all of it always there. You never doubted that the ones you love were just a room away, a few hours away or a few days away.

To you, at this time, a kiss goodbye was merely, 'a kiss until later'.

Your journey was new and the anticipation of the trip you were about to take consumed your travels: "I want to be this", "I want to go there", "I want to accomplish that". Your path always in your thoughts, and those you loved, well they would always be there wouldn't they.

"Student hire and a fancy job, big old house and a two car garage" (Lyrics)

Chapter two of your life is in full gear. You're achieving, or trying to. You're moving forward, or planning to, and most of all you're enjoying the freedom!

You love your parents, but this time in your life feels like the reward it should be for the countless hours of work you put in to get here.

You still see your family of course, and hug them and enjoy your visits, but if you're being honest with yourself, you're having too much fun building your own life.

On lonely days you pick up the phone to call mom; she makes you feel better and you're grateful knowing that if you want, you can call her again tomorrow.

"Teenage girl and her granddad, he takes her fishing he feels bad, cause she can't take her eyes off that 'ole Facebook page, someday soon, who knows how long, she'll look up from that phone and he'll be gone" (Lyrics)

Chapter three is here and you've been fortunate to have your grandchildren in your life.

However, you're now in that special club of people who understand what it's like to view life from the road looking back. You reflect back to your own grandpa, and with a knowing grin, you get what he felt.

The view from your chair in life can't be seen by young people starting out. You recognize your younger self in them, and part of you wishes they could see it all from where you sit to spare them life's costly lessons. But they can't, and you can't.

"The Trouble is You Think You Have Time" (Lyrics)

You want to explain time to your grandchildren, but how can you. They have to travel their path and with God's good grace get to be where you're sitting now so they too can pass along treasured words of wisdom that were spoken to you yesterday .... after-all, wasn't it just yesterday?

When you look back at the choices you've made, you forgive yourself for not harnessing those unrepeatable moments with those you love; for not hugging your brother one more time; for shrugging mom off when all she wanted was another kiss from her baby; for moving far away and for any other selfish act that robbed a little love from someone you cared about.

But you're grateful to have learned so much about this trip through life. If nothing else, you see clearly now.

You realize, the trouble was you thought you had time.

Enjoy 'Time' by Award Winning Canadian Country Music Artist, Dean Brody: - More on the song here




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 20, 2016

A Song for People Enduring Cancer

Brett Kissel, I Didn't Fall in Love with Your Hair
and More Here
'I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair' by Canadian Country Music Artist Brett Kissel & Featuring Carolyn Dawn Johnson

Written by Rachel Bradshaw, Kyle Jacobs and Billy Montana, this moving song was released in September 2016 for Cancer Awareness month with proceeds donated to the cause between the dates September 9th and October 28th 2016.

Philanthropist W. Brett Wilson, also played a role by matching the amounts earned and donating those funds to the Canadian Cancer Society.

Like most songs do for the artist, it struck a personal chord for Brett Kissel; his mom has battled cancer.

Why This Song Says So Much

Battling cancer certainly goes deeper than potentially losing our hair. However, when the news hits us that we could be facing this horrendous fight, some of us think of this superficial thing...our hair.

After first hearing this song blaring from the radio in my kitchen, the lyrics stopped me in my tracks. Listening to every word, the tears flowed.

The song speaks to the love of one soul for another; it reminds us what true love means and that our body really is our temporary home. The cliche 'beautiful on the inside' has greater meaning when you process these lyrics.

Love is an unseen force, yet the most powerful in the world.

How do we know we are loved by another?

We know because we feel this invisible energy. The feeling of love resonates in this gorgeous song. 'He didn't fall in love with her hair' - he fell in love with her soul, her being - This untouchable force survives all things tangible.

We are reminded that our love for each other cannot be measured by something physical, like our hair or our body shape. Love is a connection that survives the seen. This intangible force captures our spirit, and in doing so, gives us the secret to life.

We are all here perfecting that secret. 

Love is where we find the light and it's the only road that takes us home. Get out the tissues as you listen to this song.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 13, 2016

A Moms Song for a Child Leaving Home

If I Could by Barbra Streisand
A Further Review about the Song Meaning Here

One of My Sons is Moving Out in Two Days & the Lyrics to this Song Say What We Moms Feel

I've been one of those lucky moms; all four of my sons still live at home.

Yes, that's right, and we love it that way.

But my second boy, a guitarist and artist on the rise in a band called Coldfront, is moving out on his own. He's anxious to fly, but I'm not ready to let him. I'll never be ready.

Totally biased I'm about to blurt out all the cliches moms say: He's smart, organized, gorgeous and talented. I guess that's suppose to bring a measure of comfort.

But really, how did all the moms of the world get through this part of life! It's hard.

He's turned out to be a wonderful young man, and he's ready. The high point is what he's given me; the proof that he's ready.

After our son explained his plans to his dad and I on how he's going to manage this big step, we were so proud. Later that night we were lamenting on how hard this is, and how much we would miss him. But then his dad said, 'he's just like you! he's so much like you, and for that reason, I won't worry so much'.
"I've Watched You Grow So I Could Let You Go" (Lyrics)
Most of my friends have had their children move out already.

Looking back, I know I'm feeling my own mother's heartache as my brothers and I moved out.

At 19, mom and I drove to Toronto where I would start University and share an apartment with a friend. Mom helped me set-up the place, spent two days with me and after hugs and kisses, I remember standing at that apartment door watching her walk down the hall towards the elevator where she waved a final goodbye.

This coming Monday, I will understand what my mother felt that day. I'll say goodbye to my boy, my life, and pretend he's just going away for the weekend and that he'll be back in a few days. Without doing that, I'd be a mess, and on such a milestone for him, don't want him to feel my pain.

Right now I'm lucky. I can hear the boys laughing and talking to each other from their bedrooms. My dad used to say to me that he was happiest when all of us were home safe and sound. I miss my dad. I sure could use a hug from him right now. Dad would be so proud of him, of all the boys.
(Lyrics)
If I could, I would try to shield your innocence from time
but the part of life I gave you isn't mine
I've watched you grow so I could let you go
if I could
I would help you make it through the hungry years
but I know that I can never cry your tears
but I would
if I could
If you're looking for lyrics that say exactly what a Mom wants to say to her children, this is the perfect song - Get the tissues ready - I'm spent after listening to it <3



Things I'll have to deal with in the coming days:

  • How will I handle walking by his empty bedroom?
  • Missing the big glorious mess he leaves in his room
  • His cooking for us once in a while
  • His smile
  • His hugs
  • His brothers will miss him too
That's it, we're going to visit him - did I mention he's moving 5 hours away.

Yesterday he was just a baby.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 6, 2016

When You Have An American Heart - A World of Good

Find American Heart by Faith Hill Here
And More Inspirational Songs About America Here

Stand Beside Her and Guide Her

"From the small town Friday night lights, to the Broadway neon burning up bright, We're all the same and it's in our veins, A spirit that you can't keep down, A fire inside that'll never burn out if you are the owner of an American Heart" (Lyrics from American Heart by Faith Hill)

America The Good Representing a World of Good

The inspirational song by Faith Hill, American Heart, reminds us about not only the good in America, but also in people who proudly call themselves members of the free world.

Free speech, compassion, human rights and the collective good remain a constant work in progress and as a Canadian, like my brother and sister Americans, I'm blessed to be a part of it.

As people of earth, our diversity along with our sameness are the weights that create the balance. It's cliche, but it really is our differences that teach us and our common ground that unites us.

As an example, even with a physical border between Canada and the USA, the earth doesn't shift when you place a foot on one side or the other: Stand on one side, or stand on the other, I'll venture a guess our aspirations are fundamentally the same; those being prosperity, peace and the pursuit of happiness.

We all know Canadians and Americans share the longest peaceful border on planet earth. This speaks loudly about the people who inhabit both sides of this man-made invisible line.

The most successful friends on the planet have earned a few bragging rights and the Oscar should go to the people of both countries, not our governments. For it's the people who set the pace in a free country; it's people who push governments one way or another, and in a free world governments reflect who we are.

Belting out the lyrics of American Heart, Faith Hill sings these inspirational words 'We're all the Same'. The song is speaking to the soul that makes up America. Today I'll push these worthy sentiments forward to encompass my own country, and even further out to wrap these words of hope around the planet.

When times get tough, play Faith Hill's song American Heart full blast:

Cause it beats like a drum down in New Orleans
Sings like a Motown Melody,
It dreams like California,
Bigger than a Texas sky,
it Bleeds,
it Scars,
it Shines when Times get Hard,
and you can't break an American Heart..

(Lyrics from American Heart)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Reviewing Wham! Fantastic Album

80s pop group Wham!'s first album - Fantastic, containing some of the best Wham! songs from the 80s.
Wham! Fantastic Album
The early 80s saw two childhood friends become pop stars with their first album, they were known as Wham! and their album was simply called Fantastic.   As a teen I thought the album was summed up nicely with that name so here's my review of Wham!'s Fantastic album.

Anyone who loves 80s pop music would have heard of Wham! and would probably enjoy their songs, as a teen I thought they were fantastic and I had one wall in my bedroom dedicated to their posters!  That said I'm all grown up now and I still like this album!   Admittedly it's probably a case of nostalgia and the fact that it makes me think I'm still a teenager, but I believe this album has stood the test of time.

The Fantastic Album by Wham! was their first album and was a number one hit on the UK album charts.   The songs (written by George Michael) were part satirist and part social commentary which is why I think they were so popular.

As MTV had just been 'born' the group made also produced some great 80s music videos to accompany their singles.

Young Guns (Go For It!)

Wham!'s First Hit Single


Although Young Guns was actually Wham!'s second single to be released, it was their first hit and the introduction to many teenagers to this 80s duo.

The BBC program Top of the Pops (TOTPs) is credited with this single taking off. The single Young Guns was still outside of the Top 40 when Wham! were scheduled to appear.

Now at this time in the UK TOTPs was still compulsory viewing for the younger generation as other music shows such as The Tube were not around just yet. I can remember sitting down watching TOTP when Wham! came on and I was hooked on the beat (and the boys!).

Everything about Wham! was perfectly timed for 1982. George Michael has said that he was inspired to write the song after seeing a number of their school friends getting married straight out of school.

The music video for this single shows George singing to Andrew and trying to get him not to throw his life away by getting married early. Referring to him as "Hey Sucker" he tells him -

"See me, single and free
No tears, no fears, what I want to be.
One, two, take a look at you
Death by matrimony!" 
And warns that if he marries now he's crazy and his future is going to be -
"Sleepless nights, on an H.P. bed
 A daddy by the time you're twenty-one"


If you've enjoyed that music video, download Young Guns by Wham! now.

Wham! Rap

Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley


With the success of Young Guns (Go for it!) Wham! decided to re-release their first single Wham! Rap.

Their first few singles and accompanying videos told stories which were part satirist and part social commentary. Wham! Rap was their first single, although it never broke into the top 40 initially. Their second single fared better and so they re-released Wham! Rap the following year and it was a top ten hit in the UK.

Wham! Rap is about youngsters living the high life on the dole chasing their pleasures and shrugging their responsibilities. Prancing about in their jeans and leather jackets George and Andrew seemed to embody the hedonistic values of the song.

From the opening line the Wham! boys seem to be thumbing their nose at people who work and glamorizing the idea of being on the dole (a stark reality for a number of young people in the UK at the beginning of the 80s).

"Hey everybody take a look at me,
I've got street credibility,
I may not have a job,
But I have a good time,
With the boys that I meet "down on the line"


If you enjoyed this hit Wham! song then download it from here and listen to Wham Rap whenever you like!

Bad Boys

One of the Best Wham! Songs


I absolutely LOVED this song when it came out. The rhythm and words are both catchy and appealed to the youth of the time. I still can't help singing along when I hear this song.

As with Wham!'s other songs from their first album Fantastic!, Bad Boy tells a story. Embracing the age of the music video Wham! told the song's story visually as well.

Bad Boys is about a rebellious teenager and his worried parents and was always going to appeal to Wham!'s young audience. The song starts off with the words

"Dear mummy, Dear Daddy,
You had plans for me, I was your only son."

and goes on as only a rebellious youth would holding everything 'bad' in high esteem and looking down on everything 'good.'

Parents asking - "Where were you last night?" were portrayed as being nosy busybodies as opposed to worried parents.

As a teen at the time I could really relate - as a mother now I shudder! I do still love the song though:)


If you want to be transported back to 1983 then download Bad Boys here and listen to it whenever you like!


Club Tropicana

One of the Top Wham! Songs

Club Tropicana is a musical send up of the Club Med scene. This scene was where 18-30 year olds could take a package holiday with other 18-30 year olds. The result was a booze ridden week of hook-ups!

"Club Tropicana, drinks are free,
Fun and sunshine - there's enough for everyone.
All that's missing is the sea,
But don't worry, you can suntan!"

This was the last of four singles released from their first album - Fantastic!. All four of the singles had made it into the Top Ten and Wham! were on top of their game.

The idea of every single telling a story and then the music video reiterating the story visually was a successful ploy of Wham!s.


As the song goes......" fun and laughter - there's enough for everyone. All that's missing is the ..." song - download it now and have a good time!


Fantastic - by Wham!

The album Fantastic by Wham! was released on 9th July 1983 and reached number one in the UK album charts.

Original Fantastic Track Listing

1. "Bad Boys" - 3:19 (Written by George Michael)
2. "Ray Of Sunshine" - 4:43 (Written by George Michael)
3. "Love Machine" - 3:19 (Written by Pete Moor &, Billy Griffin)
4. "Wham! Rap (Enjoy What You Do)" - 6:41 (Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley)
5. "Club Tropicana" - 4:28 (Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley)
6. "Nothing Looks The Same In The Light" - 5:53 (Written by George Michael)
7. "Come On" - 4:24 (Written by George Michael)
8. "Young Guns (Go For It!)" - 3:55(Written by George Michael)


Wham! Fantastic AlbumWham! Fantastic Album
In 1998 the cd was reissued and contained three bonus tracks –

1. "Bad Boys" – 3:19 (Written by George Michael)
2. "Ray Of Sunshine" – 4:43 (Written by George Michael)
3. "Love Machine" – 3:19 (Written by Pete Moore & Billy Griffin)
4. "Wham! Rap (Enjoy What You Do)" – 6:41 (Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley)
5. "A Ray Of Sunshine (Instrumental Remix)" - 5:40 (Written by George Michael)
6. "Love Machine (Instrumental Remix)" - 3:28 (Written by George Michael)
7. "Club Tropicana" – 4:28 (Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley)
8. "Nothing Looks The Same In The Light" – 5:53 (Written by George Michael)
9. "Come On" – 4:24 (Written by George Michael)
10. "Young Guns (Go For It!)" – 3:55 (Written by George Michael)
11. "Nothing Looks The Same In The Light (Instrumental Remix)" - 6:40 (Written by George Michael)

I hope you've enjoyed this musical hop back to the 80s with me, now confession time.  Although I had a wall dedicated to Wham! I didn't actually own this particular LP. My brother had it, I just may have (purely in the role of big sister) commandeered it so much that you would think it belonged to me!

One of the popular albums of the 1980s was Wham! Fantastic album which hit the number 1 spot on the UK album chart.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, September 11, 2016

Remembering 911

Memorial Plaque
 & Country Music Songs about Loss Here
The loss, the pain, and the memory of that September morning remains fresh in our minds. It will never leave us, and for those who experienced personal loss, we know the burdens you carry are for as long you live, and the loving hearts in this world hug you tight.

We all have a story of what we were doing that day, and when you ask someone what they were doing on September 11th, they remember. It's a painful moment in time we all share.

That morning, where I live, just outside of Toronto, the sky was clear, the air was fresh, so I bundled up my baby Jesse to go on our lovely long morning walk. Jesse was just over a year old and a little bit into the walk had fallen asleep. I remember looking up to the sky thinking, 'what a gorgeous day', and also thinking how lucky we were to live in this part of the world (I honestly had that thought on that day at that time). Of course, that moment of peace would end quickly. As I parked the baby stroller in the garage, my husband came to the door and said 'the US is under attack!' I screamed what! and ran to the family room to look at the TV ... and like the rest of the world at that moment.... my heart fell to the floor. Even typing this brings back those tears.

Nothing we say can make it better for those who have suffered loss. Loss never heals, we simply learn to live life differently, with that loss.

Blessings to all and to this world ... love thy neighbor - Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning, by Alan Jackson




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, August 22, 2016

I Have Loved You for a Thousand Years - Love is Endless

Angels on Duty - Fridge Magnet
Most of us have heard 'I Have Loved You for a Thousand Years' by Christina Perri. If the song sounds familiar, it's the final song in the Twilight Series.

Today's Review isn't about Music, It's about Love

What do I know about love? Well I know what you know and what we've all heard; it's what makes the world go round, it's all there is, and of course, it's all we need.
In an increasingly cynical world where people gather in their corners defending positions, ideas, beliefs, what's right and what's not, love patiently waits for us to call it 'one step closer'.
You and I know that this life is fleeting, and whether we belief it's our one and only existence or that our consciousness/soul returns to master it's lessons is irrelevant to this particular life we're living as us - In the end, at our end, one question requires an answer, 'did we love'.

It's the love we give that travels with us and nourishes the earth. That same love imprints itself on those left behind, and they in turn pass it along. Like the tiniest seed buried deep in the earth, love grows.


Questions we might ask about our own love
After the storm, did we find our way back to love? 
When hope slipped through our fingers, did we find our way back to love? 
When the ones we love died, and a piece of us was taken with them, did we find our way back to love? 
When we suffered an illness that scared us to our core and thought, why me, did we find our way back to love? 
When our TV told us why to hate, and who to hate, did we find our way back to love? 
When people took positions that opposed everything we stood for, did we find our way back to love? 
When dark thoughts tried to infect us, did we find our way back to love? 
When we hated ourselves for our own mistakes and choices, did we find our way back to love? 
When we were hurt, did we find our way back to love? 
When someone we love was hurt, did we find our way back to love?
Most of all, when we caused someone pain, did we find our way back to love? 
Did we do this all unconditionally? Did we find our way back to love without expecting anything in return? Did we just decide to love our neighbor?

Here we are, the size of a piece of sand, all together, living on a giant ball that hangs in the middle of the universe questioning ourselves, and perhaps even questioning what it means to have faith. Our mere existence on this spinning ball is a testament to faith.

Yet, we are born with the greatest gift, the capacity to love ... and after centuries still have yet to harness it's power.

This unseen power can't physically be measured, it only exists if we declare it, and the more of it we give the more of it we have. It's the greatest energy yet to be weaponized, for good.

How Do We Get There

Our love for each other is the road home. That's it. There isn't another road that takes us there.

We can spin our wheels til the cows come home, it won't make a spit of difference ... it's the gift of love, even when it's the toughest to give, that takes us there. Test yourself - Think of the hardest person there is to love, and try to love them, to pray for them, to genuinely wish them well.

Planting love in places that need planting, is one of the best uses of love.

For my Dad, Happy Birthday - I have loved you for a thousand years and will love you for a thousand more.



Through it all, love remains
Barbara xxoo

The Heart of Country Music










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

We'll Build This Love From the Ground Up - The Perfect Wedding Song by Dan + Shay

Find 'From The Ground Up' Plus Over 40 Additional
First Dance Wedding Songs Here
You're Getting Married Congratulations!

Your love is long standing, almost nostalgic, and trying to find a song that fits the two of you isn't easy. I'll bet you've long since figured this out.

Have you spent hours on end listening to every single word of too many wedding love songs already? Don't worry, we've all done it. Every relationship is unique, and the words we dance to represent part of the promise we're making to each other ___ which is why we're all so picky.

From the Ground Up by Dan + Shay - Is This You?

The song is sung from a man's point of view, and all that he'll be and do for his bride.

Grandma and Grandpa set the example of a life that held strong through decades of change, chance and choice. They've set the stage, and showed you what happens when love is built from the ground up.

It's not just a memory, it's not just 'I Do'. It's a commitment, a promise that the wedding day is one piece of the foundation you're building together. You're making this promise for a lifetime.

You'll build your own family and you'll stand beside each other through all of life's trials and smiles.

When you look at grandma and grandpa, you both understand that life goes by in a blink and today's wedding is the celebration of what you know will last til death do you part.

You'll be each others shelter during hard times, and as two old souls you know first hand that love is about being there for better or worse.  Your very clear about one thing; the path of grace is found on the road of love.

When your own decades have passed and it's your turn to sit in grandma and grandpa's chairs, you'll hold each others hands, watching your grandchildren make that same promise you're making today - a love built from the ground up.
"Just take my hand and I'll be the man your dad hoped I'd be" (lyrics)


The only way through life is to live it with love, compassion, promise and kindness. You both know this already, that's why you're perfect for each other. The depth of this song says it well.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 24, 2016

5 Personal Choice Country Songs that are Easy to Sing

Read about More Songs at The Heart of Country Music
Review Your Own Talent...Did you sing any Songs?
How did you do, were they easy?
This list is purely based on personal choice, so you may not find these songs the ones you would choose!

Just wanted to give you a heads up in case you're gasping in shock at what I've deemed 'easier'.
Let's face it, if in your own opinion you can't sing, there isn't a country song that can fix that. But, if you like to hum a country tune for fun, give these a try :)

I've selected the song videos with lyrics so you can have your own private karaoke session right here while you're reading.

Don't be shy either; If you haven't heard the song before, listen to it once, then on the second run through, sing along and judge for yourself.

Stay by Sugarland - A Beautiful, Heartbreaking Song - Jennifer Nettles Singing, with Kristian Bush on Guitar

A Song About Infidelity - In the Key of A & uses the Chords D,A,Em,G,F#m, and Bm


There's just Jennifer and the guitar in this song, and it's spectacular. 

If the song is in your key, with only a guitar, you may find it an easier song to sing. Apparently, Kristian Bush' brother is playing the Organ as well, but I have to be honest, I hadn't noticed that. If an acoustic song is your thing, be sure to try this one out.

Jennifer Nettles wrote Stay completely on her own. She tells the full story of how the song came to be on CMT (Country Music Television). She explains how she wanted to write a song from the perspective of the mistress versus the traditional position of the wife being cheated on.
In 2009 Stay Won the Grammy for Best Country Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal, and Best Country Song

Stay was released as the fourth single on Sugarland's album 'Enjoy the Ride' - The album came out in November 2006, and Stay, was released in September of 2007. The song sold nearly 2,000,000 copies as of April 2013 and was certified Platinum.

The Video for the Song is a very simple presentation of Jennifer singing, however it still earned a number ten spot on CMT's Hundred Greatest Videos.

This Kiss, by Faith Hill - Sing a Happy, Bouncy Country Song!

The Key of E Major - Notes in E Major: A, B, C#/Db, D#/Eb, E, F#/Gb, G#/Ab , and the Chords in E Major: E, F#m, G#m, A, B, C#m, D#dim


What makes this song so much fun to sing is the way the lyrics flow together, especially the chorus where the main words have several syllables: 'it's centrifugal motion, it's perpetual bliss, it's that pivotal moment, it's subliminal'. If you like a bouncy sound with phrasing that alternates quite a bit within a song, then you'll probably enjoy singing this one. The slight changes in pace and the way the words tell a story, makes 'This Kiss' a terrific good mood song to sing!

This Kiss by Faith Hill Became a Very Popular Cross Over Country Hit

It was number one on the US and Canadian Country Charts as well as receiving numerous other accolades from many other countries. It reached number 13 in the UK Singles Chart, 52 on the German Chart, and 4th in Australia.

Crazy, by Patsy Cline is Crazy Good and I'll Venture a Guess that Almost Everyone Who Knows the Song has Tried to Sing It !

Chords in the Key C - With 12 Key Variation


Just adding this song to the page has caused me to start singing it endlessly! For those of us who categorize this song as 'easy to sing' I'll say it's because of it's crisp, clean easy flowing music and lyrics. There aren't too many surprising changes of direction. Although, to really sing the crap out of this, some god given talent comes in handy!

The Story Behind How 'Crazy' Was First Introduced to Patsy Cline, is Fascinating!

Patsy Cline's song, Crazy, was composed by Willie Nelson. She chose the song as the follow up to 'I Fall to Pieces' and the song helped to further propel her cross over fan base.

Apparently Willie Nelson, who was a struggling artist at the time, convinced Patsy's husband, Charlie Dick, to have Patsy listen to the song. Because the demo featured the song by Willie as mostly speaking the lyrics off the beat, Patsy hated the song! However, the song was rearranged as a ballad to become the hit we know today.

The House that Built Me, by Miranda Lambert

The Key of F Major


What I find nice about this song is the slightly lower tones in the verses and the way song peaks higher in the chorus. Sounds typical of most songs but the way this song makes the key changes makes me personally feel comfortable singing it.

The emotion and story attached to it also makes it an easy song to connect to as well. Of course, any song where you have a connection to the lyrics, you're automatically going to sing better. 

This song is about a girl all grown who goes back to her family home, now owned by another family, and asks if she could have one more look around...she says, I won't take nothin' but a memory. If these words reflect your life story, then you'll enjoy putting your heart into this song.

'The House that Built Me' was Planned for Blake Shelton to Record, Until Miranda Lambert Heard it

The song was released in March of 2010 on her third album, Revolution. It turned out to be the fastest rising single to date of her career. By the 12th week of it's release it was Miranda's first number 1 hit on the U.S. Billboard Country Charts. It stayed there for four weeks as well. The song went Platinum.
Miranda Lambert received a Grammy for this song at the 53rd Annual Grammy Awards in 2011 for Best Female Country Vocal Performance for the song.

Temporary Home by Carrie Underwood - A Song with a With a Spiritual Message

In the Key of C Major


What's most beautiful to sing about this song is the message.

It's a passionate song telling a story of difficult plights using showing that each journey is our Temporary Home - A little boy's temporary home in foster care, a mother and child in a temporary home seeking shelter, and the last most powerful verse, a dad on his dying bed in the hospital saying goodbye to his daughter explaining that this was simply his temporary home. 

If you're looking for a song, and feel comfortable singing in the key of C major, then you'll find this one a beautiful song to try.

Carrie Underwood was Inspired by the Book 'The Purpose Driven Life' by Pastor Rick Warren - In the book he states, our human existence is simply 'our temporary home'

The song was released in December of 2009 and was the Second Single from her Third Album, 'Play On'.
Carrie Underwood is a spiritual person and her heart is poured into this song with tremendous emotion.The song manages to avoid being preachy by showing people's tough life circumstances in a way that ultimately leads to hope, no matter the struggle.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, July 5, 2016

Reviewing Kris Kristoffersons New Boxed Set

Perfect Gift For The Kristofferson Fan

Image Courtesy of Pixabay.com
I recently treated myself to a little gift. Kris Kristofferson has released a new boxed set of compact discs that coincides with his 80th birthday. If you are a fan of his like I am or you know someone who is, this boxed set is a must have. 

Some people do not appreciate his singing voice and even he has said in the past that he thinks he sounds like a frog but his music transcends his voice, in my opinion. He is, by far, one of the best songwriters to ever walk this earth. I've been a fan of his songs for many decades now and for me it has always been more about the stories he tells in the songs that he writes. Kris makes you "feel" something when you listen to the words that make up the music. You may feel sad, happy or even sometimes a little angry when you listen to him, but always entertained. 

The boxed set includes 16 compact discs! There are 11 that are the first albums released by Kristofferson and then 5 CDs that are live performances done at various venues back in the day. What I love about this set is that the songs are his early work and those are the songs that I love the most. They bring back so many memories for me. Of course there are the standard favorites of mine but then there were songs that I had kind of forgotten about but was so happy to hear again.

Over the decades, I have gone to many of his concerts and have even talked to him afterwards as he stood outside of his tour bus. Maybe that is another reason that I am such a huge fan of his. He always seems so humble and surprised that anyone wants to listen to his music or to talk to him. As I have listened to the discs in this set, I have remembered hearing him sing different songs live and the different concerts. So, it has been a trip down memory lane and just the pure joy of hearing his music again.

I did hesitate when I saw the price of the set but then I realized that with the 16 discs, it was actually a good deal. Each disc averages out to be just a little over $6 each. Not bad, huh?

I am truly enjoying listening to these songs again and I know that if you are a fan or you know a fan that you or they will, also. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 8, 2016

4 Country Songs to Celebrate Mom

Mom Loves You No Matter What, but She May Love You A Little Extra If You Dedicate Just the Right Country Song to Her...

Whether you want to thank Mom, honor Mom or just express how she inspires you, there's a country song for that. Below are four popular songs with descriptions about the story regarding Mom.
Where we're unable to express just how we feel about mom, a song can step in and describe, in just the right way, what's in our heart.


Don't Forget to Remember Me, by Carrie Underwood

This is such a pretty song; it really does bring you back to a time in your life. It was written by Morgane Hayes, Kelley Lovelace and Ashley Gorley and made it's release in March of 2006. It reached number 2 on the Billboard Country Charts and number 49 on the Hot 100. Carrie Underwood's mother is in the video as well.


This song is gut wrenching. For all of us who recall the anticipation and heartache we felt the day we moved out of our parent's home, the lyrics in this song tell the story of this marker in our life. 
Personally I've never forgotten my own moving day, way back in 1979....heading into my first apartment in the city; just mom and I cleaning the place together and setting up what would become my new home for several years.
I'll never forget the feelings I had the day she had to leave to go back home...I was a bit afraid, a little bit anxious to begin my new life, but mostly it just hurt for a while - The song says it well :
'Eighteen years had come and goneFor Momma they flew by, But for me they drug on and on, We were loadin' up that Chevy, Both tryin' not to cry, Momma kept on talkin', puttin' off goodbye, Then she took my hand and said, Baby don't forget to remember me'
As a daughter I can say this particular lyric in the song hits home the most; "I called Mama up last night, And even when it's not, I tell her everything's all right". Doesn't matter how old we get, we always want to spare mom unnecessary worry.

Somebody's Hero, by Jamie O'Neal

This song is so moving that I dedicated a full page review about it.

If your a grown woman and Mom is on in her years, then you'll appreciate this song and the incredible message of a lifetime of gratitude between mother and daughter.

The video is equally moving. It expresses the lyrics by telling the story of a young girl who grows with the love of her mother, and how that relationship goes full circle from a Mom caring for her daughter to a daughter caring for her mother.

When you hear and watch the last verse in the video, especially if your mom is a senior citizen, be ready to shed a tear:
'She's somebody's hero, A hero to her mother in a rockin' chair, She runs a brush through her silver hair, The envy of the nursing home, She drops by every afternoon, Feeds her mama with a spoon, And that smile lets her know, Her mother's smile lets her know, She's somebody's hero'
The song was written by Jamie O'Neal, Shaye Smith and Ed Hill. It was released as the second single from her Album 'Brave'. On the Hot Country Charts it reached number 3 and thus provided Ms. O'Neal with her sixth top 40 country hit and her third top ten.



The Baby, by Blake Shelton

Blake Shelton was quite young when he recorded this song.

Get ready to cry, you won't be able to hold back the tears on this song, especially if you're the youngest child or Mom.

I can personally relate to the theme of this song - I'm a mom of four sons, and my 4th boy arrived quite unexpectedly when I was 40 years old. So to hear Blake Shelton sing the lyrics about the youngest always being referred to as the baby touches me deeply.

In fact my youngest, who at the time of me writing this page, is soon to be 16 years old and yes, is still referred to as 'my baby'. Although he gets mad when I say it now, so I can only say it to his father when I'm talking about him - I love that! Now I call him 'my angel' in french until he grows back into me calling him his baby again...and he will.

This song, in perfect country style, tells the story of the youngest son growing up as 'the baby' all the way to the time when mom is on her deathbed where he's rushing to be by her side.

Honestly, it's hard to listen to; from the perspective of mom, just thinking about any of my sons hurting when it's my time to leave bothers me; just never want to see them hurt (no matter how unrealistic that is, us mommies feel that way).

Written by Michael White and Harley Allen, this song was included on Blake Shelton's album 'The Dreamer' and was released as the first single for it in 2002. It reached and stayed at number for three weeks.




Angels, By Randy Travis

Narrated as a Story to Remind Men Who've Forgotten Where They Can Find an Angel

The beauty of this song, along with the lyrics, is the way the story of where to find an angel is narrated by Randy Travis. The video shows a group of men gathered for a night of relaxation and conversation talking about many subjects in life when the talk of 'Angels' comes up. Most of them say they've never seen a real angel, or wouldn't know one if they did. That's when Randy Travis points out that to see an angel they only need to look in their mother's eyes.
"Are you telling me you've never seen an angel,  never felt the presence of one standing by, No robe of white, no halo in site, Well you missed the most obvious thing, Man, are you blind? Just look in your mothers eyes" 
The song goes on to ask the men... who has been there for them from birth and through life, who stands by their side no matter what, and who came running every time they cried out, taught you wrong from right, waited up at night and prayed that you'd be alright.

If you'de like to add one of the above songs to your playlist, you can find them here, along with several other country songs for Mom.

Note: 'OMG Mom Was Right Pillow Can be Found Here, along with several other Pillows and Throw Blankets to Honor Mom.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.