Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, July 13, 2018

Ant-Man and The Wasp Movie Review

Ant-man and The Wasp - The Official Movie Special Hardcover Book

Background for the Plot of Ant-Man and The Wasp 

Once again, Paul Rudd (Ant-Man), Michael Douglas (Dr. Hank Pym),  and Evangeline Lilly (The Wasp / Dr. Pym's daughter), join together in battle.  However, this time it is against a very unexpected, mysterious foe, while also having to elude the FBI.

Ant-Man and The Wasp picks up the story two years after the Marvel movie, Ant-Man, with Scott Lang under house arrest.  He was found guilty of violations of the world peace treaty for his actions in the movie Captain America, Civil War.  Dr Pym and his daughter, Hope, have been in hiding for 2 years thanks to Scott.  Because he used the Ant-Man suit when he helped Captain America, they were now wanted by the FBI.  

Dr. Pym and Hope are pretty angry with Scott.  They had realized that since Ant-Man had survived and returned from the Quantum Realm (in the Ant-Man movie), that Hope's mother, who was believed to have died there, could possibly have survived too, and they wanted to rescue her.  Because they lost their home, their lab, and had to go into hiding, their rescue mission was on hold until they could recreate their lab.


The Plot of Ant-Man and The Wasp
(Spoiler Alert - Ghost Identity Revealed - Another Surprise Break from the original Marvel comics)


 Ant-Man and the Wasp - Pre-order DVD
(Plus Bonus Content)
Check Price
I don't really like spoilers, but this one is imperative in order to explain the plot of Ant-Man and The Wasp.  However, I will not go further than needed to give you a basic plot outline.

When Scott experienced a mind-meld with Janet van Dyne, Hope's mother, he immediately called Dr. Pym, even though that was a violation of his house arrest terms.   Scott had no way of knowing that Dr. Pym had just opened access to the Quantum Realm again, but Dr. Pym knew as soon as he heard from Scott, that they unfortunately needed him.  Apparently, Janet was able to communicate with them through Scott.

Unbeknownst to Dr. Pym, a previous colleague, Elihas Starr, continued working on a tunnel to the Quantum Realm on his own after he was fired by Dr. Pym for stealing.  When his tunnel blew up, Starr and his wife were both killed, but their child was alive, yet changed forever.  Now an adult, she needed access to the Quantum Realm or she would die.  As the Ghost, she was determined to steal Pym's lab and tunnel to the Quantum Realm.

Ant-Man and The Wasp are required to fight Ghost in order to save Janet van Dyne.

You may think you know what will happen by what I have written, but once again, you are in for a shock.  Remember, all of the Marvel movies have tie-ins with each others plot. 

By the way, gotta love those ants!!!




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com




MORE MARVEL MOVIE REVIEWS

Ant-Man Movie ReviewAnt-Man Movie Review
Dr. Pym (Ant-Man suit inventor) & his daughter, Hope, train Scott Lang to work with ants and to become Ant-Man in preparation to "defeat" Darren Cross and his Yellowjacket invention.



Marvel fans love Avengers: Infinity War!  All of our favorite Avengers, plus the Guardians of the Galaxy join the battle to save the world from evil domination and genocide by Thanos. Expect some very shocking and even upsetting deaths in this movie. Real Mavel fans will need Kleenex!


The movie Doctor Strange is based on the Marvel comics character. A fabulous fantasy fiction movie that is quite accurate with the depiction.



Guardians of the Galaxy is a truly fabulous Marvel movie that I would recommend for anyone! The movie is a mix of sci-fi, great animation, engaging stories, & witty dialog.

House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, July 6, 2018

Ant-Man Movie Review

Ant-Man Movie Review
Ready for your next Marvel movie fix?

If you haven't seen Ant-Man, it is definitely one you will want to watch soon.  In true Marvel style, good must conquer evil or the world will suffer.

One of the things I enjoy most about the Marvel movies is that they always choose the right actors to play the superheroes and villains.  Ant-Man is no exception.  Paul Rudd is the perfect actor to play the part of Ant-man.  Plus, Micheal Douglas stars as the extraordinarily intelligent inventor of the Ant-Man suit and shrinking abilities.

This movie also introduces us to the chosen actress to play the part of The Wasp.  Evangeline Lilly is awesome and I definitely look forward to seeing The Ant-Man and The Wasp Marvel Movie that released on July 6, 2018. 


UPDATE: I have now seen Ant-Man and The Wasp and have reviewed it Here: Ant-Man and The Wasp Movie Review


Plot of Antman - The Movie

(not the comic version)

Dr. Hank Pym (Michael Douglas) invented the Ant-man and the ability to shrink a man into the size of an ant.  Dr. Pym was in fact the first Ant-Man.  However, seeing how Ant-Man would be exploited and knowing there were others already trying to replicate his technology, Dr. Pym elected to resign, take the Ant-Man suit in order to safely hide it and his technology.  

 Ant-Man (Plus Bonus Features)The movie fast-tracks to current day where Darren Cross, his former mentee, is too close to replicating Pym's technology.  It is evident to Dr. Pym that it is time to act.  He carefully selects his successor, Scott Lang.  He has been watching Lang for some time, ever since he successfully stole money back from VistaCorp and returned the money to their victims.  Since Lang has a master's degree in electrical engineering as well as a vigilante mentality, Pym believes he will make the perfect Ant-Man.  

Dr. Pym and his daughter, Hope, train Scott Lang to work with ants and to become Ant-Man in preparation to "defeat" Darren Cross and his Yellowjacket invention.  The ants in the movie are also incredible!  They make a magnificent team.

This is a MUST SEE BEFORE you go to the theater to watch Ant-Man and The Wasp!


 



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com

Marvel fans love Avengers: Infinity War!  All of our favorite Avengers, plus the Guardians of the Galaxy join the battle to save the world from evil domination and genocide by Thanos.


The movie Doctor Strange is based on the Marvel comics character. A fabulous fantasy fiction movie that is quite accurate with the depiction.

Guardians of the Galaxy is a truly fabulous Marvel movie that I would recommend for anyone! The movie is a mix of sci-fi, great animation, engaging stories, & witty dialog.




 Ant-Man Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

The Man Who Invented Christmas Review

Movie About Charles Dickens

Christmas Carol Illustration
One might think that a review of the movie The Man Who Invented Christmas would be about the Christmas holiday, but one would be incorrect in their assumption. Certainly Christmas plays a part in the story, but it really isn't the main gist of this wonderful movie that I am about to recommend that you watch. 

I hazard to guess that if you have not read the book A Christmas Carol; you have at least seen one of the many movie renditions of the the tale by Charles Dickens. The story became an instant success when it was first published on December 19, 1843. It remains after 175 years to be a favorite of many adults and children a like. 

The premise of this movie is about how Charles Dickens wrote the novella, his struggles and a snippet of his life in the early years of the Victorian era. Charles was trying to cope with dwindling finances after having written three flops in a row (at least they were flops then but are not looked at that way now). In 1843, he had already had success with The Pickwick Papers and Oliver Twist. He had toured the United States and Canada; he was an international success. He needed to write something new and one that would be well received. The trouble was he did not have a clue what that story might be. 

Dan Stevens, of Downton Abbey fame, plays the young Dickens superbly! Christopher Plummer haunts Dickens as the character of Ebenezer Scrooge and Jonathan Pryce portrays the father of Charles who can be most infuriating to his son. The set designs, costume designs and cast of characters are magnificent. All of these combined make this movie a treasure to watch.

What I loved the most about this movie was how the author is portrayed in the writing process of his much needed prose. I think that anyone who has tried to write a short story, novella, novel or play can identify with the inner battle a writer has while trying to form the story in his or her head and then to transfer those ideas to paper or the keyboard. The story shows how Dickens needed to name Scrooge before he could come to life in his head and the story could begin to form. Once Scrooge was alive in his mind; Ebenezer would haunt the author in his office and around London. There were times that Dickens small office was crowded with the characters (seen only by Dickens) arguing points of the story. It is a process that I think any writer of fiction can identify with. I know my characters follow me around as I write and sometimes even wake me up telling me that I need to add something before I forget it.

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and highly recommend it to you all. Actually, I think that I want to watch it again. Oh, who am I kidding? I don't think, I know I want to watch it again. I enjoyed it that much! Now, if you will excuse me one of my characters is insisting that I re-write a scene because she says that I have made her say something that she wouldn't say. I think I just heard Scrooge shout, "Bah, Humbug!"





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, June 29, 2018

Avengers: Infinity War Movie Review

Avengers:  Infinity War Movie Review
Marvel fans love this movie!  All of our favorites join the battle to save the world from evil domination. 

The Avengers team up with The Guardians of the Galaxy to battle Thanos who is collecting the 6 infinity stones with the ultimate goal of taking over the universe.   With each infinity stone, Thanos becomes more powerful and harder to defeat.  He ruthlessly murders the keepers of each stone using whatever means is necessary for him to add to his collection and ultimate, unstoppable power.

Thanos' plan is to rule the universe and eliminate 50% of the population.  He claims the resources of the world are finite, therefore he wishes to decrease the surplus population so those who are left will be sustainable.  His claims that he can eliminate hunger may sound noble and benevolent until you realize mass murder is necessary.   

What I didn't expect was to see several of my beloved heroes die at the hand of powerful evil.


Avengers: Infinity War Cast of Magnificent Characters

Who is there: 

Loki - Tom Huddleston
Doctor Strange - Benedict Cumberbatch
Iron Man - Robert Downey, Jr
Starlord - Chris Pratt
Hulk - Mark Ruffalo
Rocket Raccoon - Bradley Cooper
Mantis - Pom Klementieff
Groot - Van Diesel
Drax - Dave Bautista
Gamora - Zoe Saldana
Nebula (Gamora's sister) - Karen Gillan
Captain America - Chris Evans
Spiderman - Tom Holland
Black Panther - Chadwick Boseman
Black Widow - Scarlett Johansson
Scarlet Witch - Elizabeth Olsen
Vision - Paul Bettany
Falcon - Anthony Mackie
The Winter Soldier - Sebastian Stan
War Machine - Don Cheadle


List of the Infinity Stones, Their Colors and Their Current Protectors


INFINITY STONE GEM COLOR PROTECTOR / POSSESSOR
REALITY Red Taneleer Tivan, The Collector
SOUL Orange Red Skull
MIND Yellow Vision (Avenger)
TIME Green Doctor Strange
SPACE Blue Loki (Thor's brother)
POWER Purple Nova Corps on Xandar


The Infinity War Begins


 Trends International Avengers Infinity War
Thanos Wall Poster
Check Price
Asgard, Thor's homeland, has been previously destroyed in the movie Thor:  Ragnarok.  For viewers, the Infinity War begins when Thanos (Josh Brolin) attacks Thor's refugee ship.  Thor has been taken captive and Loki subsequently surrenders the Space infinity stone in his possession in exchange for Thor's life.  In a heart-sickening turn of events, Thanos murders both Loki and Heimdall (Idris Elba).  But, Thor is left alive and is rescued by The Guardians of the Galaxy.

The battle moves into the streets of New York where Doctor Strange, who possesses the Time infinity stone, is attacked.   Iron Man, Hulk and Spiderman all try to protect Doctor Strange to prevent the theft of the Time stone.

In Scotland, Vision, who possesses the Mind stone, also finds himself under attack with Scarlett Witch being his only defender at first.  However, Captain America, Black Widow & Falcon show up just in time to save both Scarlett Witch and Vision from certain death.

The final battle takes place in Wakanda, home of the Black Panther, where Vision was taken to be protected.  All of the remaining Avengers and Guardians arrive to defend Vision and the universe, but all do not survive.  The end is shocking!  

I couldn't move from my seat when the movie was over.  I kept wanting more.  I needed there to be more, but clearly that will have to wait for the next movie. 



 

Do I Recommend Avengers: Infinity War


Absolutely!  However, I plan to buy the DVD as soon as it is released and I would recommend Marvel fans should do the same.  I want to be able to watch it again right before I go to the theater when the sequel is released.

One final note: Be sure you sit through the credits at the end of the movie. You will want to see the teaser with Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) and who he summons for help. A new avenger is clearly on the horizon!



Avengers: Infinity War and Movies You Should See BEFORE You Watch Avengers: Infinity War

Dr. Strange Movie ReviewDoctor Strange Movie Review
The movie Doctor Strange is based on the Marvel comics character. A fabulous fantasy fiction movie that is quite accurate with the depiction.

Guardians of the Galaxy Movie ReviewGuardians of the Galaxy I & II Movies Reviewed
Guardians of the Galaxy is a truly fabulous Marvel movie that I would recommend for anyone! The movie is a mix of sci-fi, great animation, engaging stories, & witty dialog.

Dr. Strange, Guardians of the Galaxy I & II, and ........


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, June 15, 2018

Solo: A Star Wars Story Movie Review

Solo:  A Star Wars Story Movie Review
Movie Cover & Wikipedia Image combined for Intro Photo
Top Image By Lucasfilm LTD. [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Solo: A Star Wars Story  Reviewed & Recommended  by this Lifelong Star Wars Fan

I had previously heard that the new Star Wars movie, Solo, was not worth seeing, however I emphatically disagree!  As a matter of fact, it may well be one of my favorite Star Wars movies ever, and that is saying a lot.

I was in high school when the first Star Wars movie was released in 1977.  And, like every other teenager that summer, I saw the movie several times.  

My husband and I own every Star Wars movie on either DVD or VHS (some on both formats).  Plus, when the theme song starts, we could name that tune in 2 notes.  We feel like we grew up with Han Solo, Luke Skywalker, and Princess Leia.  Yoda and Darth Vader were like our classmates, or perhaps our teachers.  

I felt compelled to tell you all of that so you would understand that we consider ourselves huge Star Wars fans with sufficient knowledge and experience to qualify as real judges in the assessment of sequels and prequels.   

We both rule, unequivocally, that Solo:  A Star Wars Story is an excellent movie!   All Star Wars fans should see the movie and decide for themselves.  Please don't let negative comments or reviews keep you from seeing a fabulous movie.


Highlights of Solo:  A Star Wars Story

Solo: A Star Wars Story is exactly what the name would suggest.  It is the background story of Han Solo's life before he met Luke and Leia.  Did you know Han had a love interest before Leia?  It makes sense that he would, but I found it very interesting nonetheless. 

 Solo: A Star Wars Story (With Bonus Content)Check PricMy favorite part was seeing how Han met Chewbacca.  That was fantastic!  I don't believe I ever questioned how they became a team, but it was really fun to watch.  After all, everyone loves Chewbacca.  Some of us liked him better than Han in that first movie way back when.

I liked the way the writers injected humor in this movie.  I found myself laughing several times.  Have you ever wondered how Han got his name?  Again, not something I questioned previously, but I definitely laughed at that aha moment.

I also enjoyed watching Han win the Millennium Falcon.  I appreciated the fact that he did not cheat to win.  It was all fair and square.

Admittedly, I thought I would miss Harrison Ford.  I was concerned that no one else would be able to play that part, or that I would simply not accept them as Han.  As it turns out, I like this new "Han".  He did an outstanding job of playing the part of Han Solo.

Those are a few of my favorite highlights of the movie.  I would love to hear about your favorite part.



The Plot of Solo:  A Star Wars Story


Aside from introducing you to Han earlier in his life, the movie actually had a plot too. 

Han and Chewbecca team up with Tobias Beckett (Woody Harrelson) and his gang of thieves who were hired to steal coaxium (hyperspace fuel) for the Crimson Dawn syndicate which is ruled by Maul.  

As always, conflict, battles, uncertain alliances, betrayals, and even deaths are a part of the intricate plot of this Star Wars prequel.  We even see the Millennium Falcon engage in a fight with TIE fighters. 





Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

The Accountant Reviewed

A Movie That Surprised Me

account ledger
Accountant Ledger image from Pixabay.com
This past weekend my husband and I watched the movie The Accountant so I would like to review it for you today. We both loved the movie but probably for a lot of different reasons; let me explain. 

First of all, I admire Ben Affleck as an actor; after watching this movie that admiration has grown exponentially! When one sees the cover of the DVD, women might think that they want to pass on this movie. After all, Ben is holding a gun in his arms so that probably means it is a shoot 'em up kind of film. It is; there is quite a bit of violence in it but there is more to it. It is the "more" that made me love the movie and become a bigger fan of Mr. Affleck.


The basic premise is that Christian Wolff (played by Ben Affleck) is a math savant who works for some of the biggest crime organizations in the world; cooking their books. He hides under the guise of a small town CPA, lives quite modestly and keeps a very low profile. He is hired by a legitimate multi-million dollar business when they think that there might be a discrepancy in the accounting of the company. Some money appears to be missing.

So far you might be thinking "well, this doesn't sound all that remarkable" and I would agree with you; so stay with me. Without giving too much away I need to explain more about Christian. It isn't so much that he is extraordinary when it comes to numbers, it is that he is actually an autistic savant. Ben Affleck portrays a very believable adult who falls into the high functioning spectrum of autism.

It is this part of the movie that moved me the most, the story of a man with autism. We see glimpses of his past in an era when not much was known about autism by the medical professionals and the parents of kids with autism. We see the abuses suffered by a child who can't grasp the concept of social skills, who can't cope when they aren't able to finish a process or their routine is disrupted. We see a misguided parent trying to help his child be able to function in society. It is all of this that touched my heart deeply.

This movie is one that I think men will enjoy because of the macho fighting scenes and that part of the story. It is one that women will be touched by because of the back story of a person with special needs. My husband and I watch a lot of movies together and we both loved this movie very much. I don't think that you will be disappointed if you watch it, too. There are a lot of surprises with twists and turns in the plot.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, May 25, 2018

Wonder Woman (2017) Movie Review

Wonder Woman Movie Review
The new movie, Wonder Woman (2017), took me by surprise.  I didn't expect to like it.  As a matter of fact, ever since I saw the first preview for it in the theater, I have made comments about how no one could ever be Wonder Woman after Lynda Carter.  However, when my son gave me the DVD for Mother's Day, of course I immediately popped it into the DVD player for us to watch together.  I now freely admit, Gal Gadot is fabulous as Wonder Woman and I loved the movie.

I was a teenager during the Wonder Woman television series back in the seventies and I can easily remember how much the guys in school "admired" Lynda Carter.  Admittedly, her costume was too racy for me to want to wear, but everyone thought she was perfect.  In today's world, that Wonder Woman costume seems rather mild by comparison to many of the others that are made for women.

Speaking of the costume, the new costume design for Wonder Woman is pretty awesome.  It seems more appropriate for an Amazon warrior.  While it still has the corset bodice, it is designed to resemble armor.  The gladiator paneled skirt is definitely an improvement.  In my opinion, this costume does give Wonder Woman more credibility as a fighter instead of just a visual feast for men.


Wonder Woman Movie (2017)


 Wonder Woman (2017) -
Available on DVD, Blu-ray, Amazon Video, & More
Check Price
I loved the way this movie gave us the entire backstory on Diana, Wonder Woman.  If I ever knew it, I certainly didn't remember it.  That alone made the new movie worth watching.  I also appreciated the historical setting.  From the very beginning, we are able to identify the time period simply by the German insignia on the uniforms.  The soldiers wore the iron cross (WWI) instead of the swastika of the Nazi party (WWII). 

After a few "current day" introduction scenes, we are transported back in time and to the island of Themyscira, homeland of the Amazon.  Diana's mother is the queen of the Amazons and she desires to keep Diana safe.  Defying Queen Hippolyta's orders, the queen's sister, Antiope, starts training Diana as a warrior.  Both women know Diana's true identity and purpose, but the queen wishes to protect her as long as possible.  Antiope wishes to prepare her for the inevitable.  When Hippolyta discovers Antiope is training Diana, she is furious, but after reasoning with her, Antiope convinces her that Diana needs to be trained for war.

When an airplane breaks through the barrier that separates our world from the island of Themyscira, Diana dives into the water to investigate.  She subsequently saves the pilot's life and brings him to shore.  Unfortunately, Steve Treyor's plane is followed by a warship and the first battle of the movie begins between the Germans and the Amazons.  Once the Germans are defeated, the women interrogate Steve.  By using the lasso of truth, they are able to quickly get information about "the war that will end all war".  Recognizing that humanity needs her help, Diana volunteers to take Steve back and aid in the war against Ares, the god of war.  Together, Diana and Steve travel back through the separating barrier and to London.  "Wonder Woman" is determined to fight against darkness and evil, but Diana finds that isn't as easy to identify as she expected.





My Recommendation  - Wonder Woman (2017)


Wonder Woman (2017) is truly a wonderful movie.  I encourage everyone to set aside any preconceived notions about Wonder Woman and watch the new movie.  I think you too will be pleasantly surprised. 



 

 

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.