Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts

Sunday, March 11, 2018

20 Easy Ways to Get Your Home Ready for Spring

Photo via Pixabay - Flowers, Gardening - Clearing the Yard for Spring
Winter and hibernation tend to go hand in hand. However, we've 'sprung forward' and it's time for another change in our predictable routines.

For many of us, spring brings on an itch that's not allergy related; the itch for change. Even if you're nodding your head in the negative right now, think about it ..... you've more than likely made small changes at the start of spring without knowing it; cleaning closets, washing bedding ... you know, our automatic routine that's inspired by fresh air and open windows. There's something healing about spring changes.

Here are 20 Changes You Can Make (or have made) to Brighten Your Home for Spring - Most Don't Cost a Dime (See them below the photo)
Photo Via Pixabay - Minimalism for Spring

  1. Wash and freshen up the bedsheets, bedspreads and or curtains
  2. Change the bedsheets from flannel to cotton
  3. Clear out your closets
  4. Put away the winter clothes and pull out your summer wear
  5. Clear out your yard and garden - tidy it up
  6. Wash your windows
  7. Open your windows to do an air exchange
  8. Lighten up the room by removing area rugs to expose the wood floors. This simple technique will give you that fresh open feeling for the spring.
  9. Remove your usual accessories and replace them with simple fresh spring accents
  10. Think Green - add an abundance of plants - not just one - put multiple plants in multiple areas
  11. Freshen the home with new scents - replace winter cinnamon candles with lemon, citrus and laundry candles
  12. Dress up your table (kitchen, sunroom) - Bring out a bright and cheerful table cloth and feature a lovely arrangement of spring flowers, vases and candles
    Photo via Pixabay - Add Fresh Flowers
  13. Cover your existing pillows with spring themed pillow covers
  14. If changing your bedding set to a spring theme is possible, go for it
  15. Add one new spring themed fun focal point piece to a room for the spring - a light fixture, a piece of art, new pillows, an oversized floor plant
  16. If you're planning to re-do a room, go lighter in textures, wall colors and furnishings
  17. If you're a lover of color, find a small room (an entry way or a washroom) and paint it in a bright lacquered color. Be sure you know how powerful this will be before tackling the project. If you have a room with high ceilings - even better! Also, in a larger room you could paint one wall in a bright lacquered paint. However, if your wall has a lot of flaws, stay away from this kind of paint, it tends to show every flaw!
  18. Paint a small area in your kitchen with chalkboard paint to help create an outdoor café feel
  19. Add floral prints! Don't be afraid of floral - it's not just your grandmother's favorite. Floral prints can work in moderation, especially as an accent
  20. Work to make your rooms more open and inviting - move your furniture around - a tip to remember - ensure there's a clear pathway through the room, to the doorways. With that in mind, you'll consider the rooms flow without thinking about it.
We seem to go into cleaning-clearing mode as soon as the weather gifts us with fresher, warmer air.

Breathing in the spring air gives us a cleanse inside and out but most of all, is motivating. So don't miss the moment and the mood - make those changes while you still have that itch!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, March 4, 2018

5 Ways to Bring Happiness and Positive Energy Into a Room - Harness the Good

by Funkthishouse
When the world outside feels darker than usual and you want to create a sanctuary of happiness and positive energy, start with your home and personal space.

Since we can't control gravity or other people, controlling ourselves and the environment we live in can give us a sense of taking back our mind and heart.
"We are shaped by our thoughts, we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves" Buddha
The Emotion Code by Dr. Bradly Nelson talks about how emotions are so powerful they can literally define and determine the experiences we bring into our life. We need to take the power of the energy in our home and enhance it for good.

Lets review 5 Ways to Bring Happiness and Positive Energy into a Room:

1. Open the Window or Clear the Air in the Room

An air exchange can do wonders for a space. Even in the dead of winter go ahead and open the window for a few minutes. Fresh air reinvigorates a space and there's a sense a power in knowing you can change the energy of a room with something you can't see. If opening a window isn't an option, add a Salt Lamp. Just like the goodness of negative ions that fill the air after a thunderstorm, a salt lamp also emits negative ions. However, the radius of negative ions from a salt lamp is quite small, generally surrounding the area immediately around the lamp itself. That's a good reason to have a couple of salt lamps positioned throughout a room - especially a windowless room.

2.  Remove Items that Have Bad Memories

If there are people or items in your life that have negative energy or thoughts attached to them, be brave, and remove photos or items relating to them from your space. You're not erasing what has happened, you're simply taking back the things you CAN control; your space and your mood. If there are linens, pillows or furnishings that have bad memories attached to them, replace them. Add a little humor to the situation and have a small cleansing ceremony with Sage as you box the items up. Pass them onto the Good Will. If getting rid of your furniture isn't in the cards, try slip-covers for couches and taking on a DIY re-do project for the dressers and tables.

3.  Add Plants and Flowers

Plants freshen and clean the air in a room. For more detail on which plants do what, take a look at this list of room cleaning plants. Think in terms of volume. Add several plants in a room; floor plants, plants in plant wall holders, plants on end or corner tables, or multiple plants displayed in plant stands.

4.  Add Music to the Room

Even if you have a TV in the room to play music from the Music Channel, there's something special about listening to music the old fashioned way; from a stereo or radio. Leave the TV off - for less magnetic energy being emitted. The benefits to music are abundant; it promotes good health, helps you sleep, reduces depression and more. Keep a radio running in the kitchen with music playing all the time. We do this in our house. In fact, I can hear the music softly playing while typing this. It's incredibly uplifting to walk into a quiet kitchen that has the life of music filling the background. It brings in positive energy especially when it's a bit lonesome.  Best of all, song lyrics tell a story, and provide a lovely calming, creative visual while preparing meals or tidying up.

5.  Use the Power of Color to Enhance the Emotions You Want to Bring into a Space

Every color has a group of traits and emotions attributed to them. Understanding these traits can help you harness the mood you want your room to evoke. Here's a summary of a few of the traits associated with some of the most basic colors.
  • Orange: Boosts your energy, is fun, and adds excitement
  • Blue: Calming, relaxing, trusting, professional
  • Yellow: Moderate amounts - joy, happiness, encourages thinking/learning
  • Purple: Luxury, spirituality, creativity, royalty
  • Red: Energetic, Love - but peace and tranquility in a bedroom
  • Green: Nature, well being, refreshing, clean, simple, calming and growth
You don't have to go wild wondering how the heck you add color to your room. If you're not into painting, just add your colors via small accessories such as wall art, throw blankets, lamps, rugs, pillows and table décor.

Go ahead, take control of your home's energy and create a space that reflects happiness and positive energy.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 11, 2018

How to Create Color Flow Through Your Home Using a Colorful Palette

If you're partial to a colorful palette when decorating your home, but unsure of how to tackle it, the first rule is to think in terms of 'color families'.

For this article, we'll examine the colors blue, orange and white in combination.

Step 1 - Take a Look at Your Home and Notice Which Areas Can be Seen From Each Room

Start with your foyer.

What rooms can you see from your front foyer when you're standing in it? Whatever rooms you can view from the foyer, you'll want to include in the color family you choose.

As an example, using the chosen color palette orange, blue and white, you could plan the bolder choices in the rooms seen from the foyer, and use the same tones softened for the hallway.

Mix patterns in your décor to break harsh solids, and if you're into a major re-do, add lovely half or quarter wall wainscoting to the foyer, living or dining rooms.

If you're brave, of course you can work the opposite way around; put the brave bold blue, orange and white in the hallway, and use softer hues in the main rooms.

Here's an example of Living Room Design Choices - A Chair, Sofa, Rug and Coffee Table you could put together with a Blue, Orange and White/Black theme.

Step 2 - To Continue the Palette in Other Rooms in the Home Use Various Shades of the three Colors You Selected to be in Your Color Family

Flow is probably one of the most difficult things to achieve in a home. We tend to have ideas for the living room, ideas for the family, ideas for the kitchen yet many times these ideas don't naturally flow into each other. So out of color fear, we fall back to neutrals.

If you want to keep the adjoining rooms neutral, just bring in various shades of your chosen color family into the room using accessories: Pillows, throw blankets, wall art or add a punch of color with bright end tables.

Examples of color variants for orange are, corals, tangerine and grapefruit. Variants of blue can include cobalt, turquoise, delft, and navy.

Here are examples of some Blue, Orange and White Accessories to Use with Other Major Furniture Pieces being neutral (tan, white, beige):

Step 3 - When You're Decorating Rooms Not Directly Connected to the Main Area, Such as the Master Suite - Keep it Calmer by Using More Pattern than Bold Color

You can still focus on the color family you've selected for your home, and include some in the bedroom, however, do it by using more patterned pieces combined with neutral solids.

As an example, you could keep the bedding mostly white, the wall soft coral or soft blue, the bedframe a darker shade, and the drapes and chairs similar or matching in simple patterns.

Here are crisp but muted pieces for in the blue-family for a Master Suite:

Remember, once you decide upon your color family, decorating your entire home simply means introducing shades and versions of your color-family throughout your home.

By the way, you can still decorate other rooms that don't flow off an open area pretty much any color you want. However, if you're going to go completely off of your color palette in that room, be sure it can't be seen from any hallways or open areas.

Shop by Color - Have Fun!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 4, 2018

Where to Use Yellow in My Home to Promote an Uplifting and Sociable Atmosphere

More Yellow Home Décor Here
In Feng Shui, Yellow is considered a Fire Element.

If you're wondering what the meaning of 'Fire Element' is, it's pretty much what 'Fire' itself evokes; renewal, transformation, expansion and purification.

With the power to destroy, the result of fire is conversely true, the destruction generates an opportunity for re-birth and renewal. Of course Yellow isn't about destruction, it represents uplifting change and in Feng Shui finds it's predominance in the Reputation/Fame and Good Fortune parts of the home.

So How Does a Fire Element Color Like Yellow Uplift a Space?

If you're familiar with Feng Shui basics and the Feng Shui Western Bagua Map used for home decorating, you already know where yellow is predominately suggested to be used. Below you'll notice that red is indicated in the Reputation/Fame quadrant, but since yellow, red and orange are considered fire elements, they can piggy back off each other in their respective areas: Reputation/Fame, Love/Relationships, and Good Fortune. Also notice that 'Gold' is in the Prosperity/Wealth quadrant as well, so go ahead and feature yellow tones in that quadrant of your home.

If you're confused by what the quadrants are and what they include, see the Western Bagua Map below. To learn the basics on how to use the map, you can read more about it here.

Western Bagua Map for Feng Shui by Funkthishouse

Where to Feature Yellow in Your Home

If you're following the principles of Feng Shui, and map your house out using Western Bagua, choose the colors for each room by how the rooms are positioned on the map. By the way, you don't have to go hog-wild with the suggested color; if you're a less-is-more type, simply feature the color in selected pieces and accessories.

As an example, according to this map, if I wanted to feature yellow in my own home, I could choose it as a main color or add it in the form of accessories to our kitchen, family room or foyer.

However, the most powerful use of yellow would be to include it in our Good Fortune area, which happens to be the foyer. Prosperity/Wealth, Reputation/Fame and Love/Relationships lands in our kitchen and family room, so a bit of yellow in these rooms would also work.

So does that mean I shouldn't decorate our family room and kitchen in colors other than fire colors? No of course not. Feng Shui is simply a guideline of how to maximize the power of energy in the form of color, décor and placement. The bottom line is the power of your own energy, your own mood, and what you do to promote positivity in the home and with your family.

Yellow is an Uplifting and Sociable Color

Yellow is a good energy color that stands for clarity, optimism, joy, freshness and intellect. These attributes are key to encouraging conversation and an uplifting environment. So naturally, it makes sense to add yellow in the home to help to achieve these mood goals.

As an example if you would like to enhance communication with your significant other, go ahead and decorate your Master Suite with yellow, or just add a bit of yellow to the room. When he starts unexpectedly becoming chatty, you can smile and blame it on the yellow.

If you're looking for Yellow Home Décor pieces, click each of the boxes below and various furnishings in that category will drop down right on the page: Oh HAPPY DAY:




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 28, 2018

Decorating Your Living Room With Pink and Purple

It takes a certain amount of bravery to decorate a room with such powerful yet soft colors. Not a lot of people are up to it.

Think about how many people you know who have taken the plunge and painted their foyer or main rooms Lavender. I'll take a wild guess and say, very few.

Of course bedrooms and bathrooms often see pink or purple on the wall, but it truly takes a free spirit to turn a living or dining room into a pink/purple haven.

A Pink and Purple Living Room Design Can Be Done

The first step before any decorating begins, is to determine the mood you want to create for that space when it's completed.

How do you want the room to feel to those who enter? If the answer to your question is, relaxed, calm, and serene, mixed with a touch of royalty and class, then hang on to your decorator's hat .... you're a candidate for a purple and pink living room. Yikes you say?

The Basic Template for the Room

The basic template for you space is what goes on the walls, ceiling and floor. After deciding on the mood, you must next decide these items.

However, you should have the couch, chair and rug colors established at the same time so that you can match one of the colors from those pieces with the wall and/or ceiling paint. And yes, you can paint your ceilings dark colors.

Wall Treatments - Will You Have Any?

If you're planning purple for the wall, and your budget permits it, add Wainscoting to the living room. Put the Wainscotting all the way around the walls or just on one wall - you decide. Quite frankly, all the way around is a fantastic look, especially when a great deal of color is about to be introduced to the space.

Wainscotting painted a light soft blush, versus, the standard stark white, would look incredible with dark purple walls that match a shade of purple in the area rug. This Pinterest Board features various wainscoting styles and designs. Take a look to get an idea of the choices available. There are plenty.

The Furniture and Accessories

There are an abundance of options to choose from. However, if you need the choices narrowed down, check out these pre-selected purple and pink furniture items featured here. The design choice was centered on softness and grace.
  • The Sofa: Soft Pink/Blush
  • The Rug: Darker Purple
  • The Sideboard: Dark Wood with Purple Tones
  • The Pictures: Flowered with Purple and Pink Tones
  • The Floor Poufs: Faux Fir White
  • The Coffee & End Tables: Rose Gold and Glass
  • The Chairs: Soft Pink Striped
  • The Drapes: Graceful Soft Linen Light Pink
  • The Accessories: Pink, Purple, White - Plants, Flowers and Candles
  • The Lamps: Dark purple base with light colored lamp shade (white or pastels)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 21, 2018

Decorate with Purple in 2018 - Why? Because Ultra Violet is Pantone's Color of the Year

That's Right, Ultra Violet (Shade 18-3838) is Pantone's Color of the Year for 2018: Although not the exact shade, choose any Shade of Purple to Decorate With and You'll be Fitting In with 2018's Trend 

If you're not familiar with how Pantone's Color of the Year is selected, in summary, it's chosen as a reflection of society and it's current cultural expressions and often by it's needs.
“The Pantone Color of the Year has come to mean so much more than ‘what’s trending’ in the world of design; it’s truly a reflection of what’s needed in our world today.” – Laurie Pressman, Vice President of the Pantone Color Institute"
Individuality, unconventionality and artistic brilliance are some of the words Pantone uses to describe the reasons Ultra-Violet was chosen for 2018.

Spirituality is often associated with Purple. As an example, if you're a church goer you've seen the spiritual connection with purple during Lent when a Catholic Priest wears his purple robe. With Lent being a time of empathy for suffering and penance, purple is the chosen color for this time. It's not meant as a negative, but rather to give something of ourselves as a way of acknowledging Jesus' suffering for us.

If you're not a believer in traditional religions, purple is still referenced as an associated color for mindfulness. Whether it's for Yoga, Meditation or InspiringButterfly Lilac Bedding Duvet SetButterfly Lilac Bedding Duvet Set Gatherings, purple lighting, purple scents and purple art, are often used to compliment and reflect the calming intention of a group.

In home décor you'll find that purple is used to enhance a design that is bravely unique to the point that a home owner has no qualms about creating an environment that boldly stands out for all who enter. Call it, 'a little shock and awe in home decorating'.

Where the conservative decorator tends toward neutrals, purple is often for the individualists among us. It's not so much about being fearless, but more about recognizing self within our environment. Of course, if you're not a fan of purple it doesn't matter how much of an individualist you are, you simply won't decorate with the color!

In Business Marketing, purple is often used to represent trends, services or products that are higher in quality or sophistication. If your business reflects a higher level of quality, purple may be a color to include in your branding.

In short, decorate the way you want to decorate! No matter the trends, your home is your personal space and should reflect who you are and what you love. But if you happen to love Purple, you're in luck for 2018!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 14, 2018

3 Ways to Add Color to Your Wall Without Painting

Three Ways to Add Colors to Your 
Walls Without Painting
Photo by: Funkthishouse.com
Colorful décor comes in many funky ways, simple but true.

If painting the walls just isn't in the cards, but adding color is, you can do it by including wall and furniture items that hold colorful, necessary home accessories.

Use Your Nail Polish as a Colorful Wall Art Display - Featured Below

Instead of having a drawer filled with a collection of colorful and expensive nail polish, display them in a stylish metal rack on the wall. 

The functional dual purpose of a nail polish wall rack makes it an original accessory for a washroom, dressing room, vanity desk area, or the bedroom.

The racks themselves are fairly reasonable in price so acquiring a couple to fill a large nail polish collection won't break the bank. Best of all, with two metal wall racks you have double the wall art. 

Don't hesitate to give a nail polish wall rack as a gift. These items tend to be labelled 'perks' that most people won't bother treating themselves to, so receiving one would be a treat. If there's someone in your life who's known for their massive collection of nail polish, this item could be a hit!

Wall Unit Plant Stand for Multi-Colored Plants - Featured Below

Plants add energy, freshness and style to a room. Often times we want to add plants, but after looking around the room, come to the conclusion there's no place for them.

If you use a wall to feature a Ladder Plant Stand, you're able to locate that stand in one appropriate place in the room to display multiple plants.

Most importantly, you've added color to the room without painting the walls by using multi-colored flowers and plants. How nice is that ... instead of toxic paint, you have lovely air freshening plants.

A Spice Rack: Use a Decorative Rack in the Kitchen- Featured Below

New kitchen's normally have spice drawers, and older kitchen's tend to have spice cupboards. Who says you have to use either. 

If you're not one of the fortunate who have a modern pull-out spice cupboard located along side of the oven, then you're free to take all your colorful spices and feature them on the wall by using a Spice Wall Rack.

The metal spice racks are particularly stylish. They fit with virtually any décor style; modern, rustic, country, contemporary, and traditional. Place it for all to see, as you would any piece of wall art.

And there you have it, three easy-peasy ways to add color to the walls without painting.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, December 17, 2017

3 Home Decor Items that Will Add Sunshine to Your Space

Yellow Sunflower Clock Here
No need to frown when the sun isn't shining, simply add a few items to your home that bring the sunshine indoors. 

Your home is more than just an assembly of pieces, it's a reflection of who you are.

There's nothing carved in stone that says you have to limit your home decoration pieces to standard, traditional accessories and furnishings. 

Décor items that encourage positive feelings can help to create a positive mood and environment.

Here are three creative ways to add sunshine to a room using funky decorating pieces:

Sunshine, Sunflower Wall Clock

Add this 3D Yellow Leaves Sunshine Clock to the kitchen or hallway. The clock measures approximately twelve inches around and comes in three different colors.

The clocks come in pink, yellow and white making them ideal on a colorful wall as indicated in the photo. Add one to a den or outdoor patio area, or better yet, use it in a flower themed bedroom.

Add an Outstanding 3D Printed Ceiling Mural
Amazing Leaves & Sunshine Ceiling Mural Here

This is certainly unlike anything most of us have seen. Ceiling murals are fast becoming the latest craze.

The three dimensional scenery designs bring the outdoors in. Fabulous and different, that's what you get with one of this on your ceiling!

If you're not ready to add one to a main room, try it in a bedroom first. They look incredible where mouldings have been installed around the ceiling so that the mural appears inset. But if you don't have any trim to frame the mural, not worry, simply put it on the entire ceiling. 

The mural comes in seven size options and is made of a durable, waterproof, self-adhesive PVC material.

Sunshine and Trees 5pc Canvas Art
Golden Sunshine and Trees Canvas Art will add Crisp Freshness

If you're more on the traditional side when it comes to home décor, this funky yet standard canvas art piece makes an excellent choice.

Spread sunshine and a forest feel throughout the room when you feature this outstanding canvas art in the living room, den, office, or bedroom.

They also make an excellent housewarming or birthday gift. The person receiving this will certainly be thrilled ... who wouldn't be. You'll notice that this piece is quite affordable as it's non-framed. That means you have to add the canvas art to your own frame. However, you can easily find numerous pieces of already framed canvas art here.

It's five pieces are non-glare and moisture resistant. They're easy to clean as well; simply wipe them down with a slightly damp cloth. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, December 16, 2017

Organizing Your Kitchen Cupboards - Where to Start?

Organizing your kitchen cabinets!
I don't know about you, but my kitchen cupboards get messy (and we won't even talk about the odds 'n ends drawer!).  I think in my mind I believe I should have a walk in pantry, but in reality I don't which means that it's not big enough!  Back in the real world I'm sure that my pantry is big enough for my household, I just need to review how to organize it better!

I did buy an expandable metal shelf for the cupboard that houses my mugs and teas and this was fantastic, but I didn't think it would work the best for my pantry.

Problem number one is herbs and spices.  Now the old spice racks that I used to have would be great except I have no where to put them and also I have a couple of herbs and spices that I buy in larger containers as I use more of them.

Problem number two is cans.  I buy quite a few canned goods especially when they're on special, but I have to stack them on top of each other to see what I have and if I want to use something it can no longer be stacked so it sits behind something else and get's doubled up.

A solution?  I came across a three tier cabinet organizer and thought yes, this could be it!  I tested it out with my herbs and spices and then with my cans and went back to get a second one.

Now I know you can get can organizers that you can fit lots of cans in and they just roll out, but I just didn't think that would work very well in my home.  With this three tier organizer I can pop on my cans and see at a glance what I have.  Now you might look at the image and think well I can't read what the label says, but I pretty much know what the cans I buy look like so I can see enough to know exactly what's there.

Click image to go to Amazon and check the price of this awesome organizer (and buy it if you want to!)

As far as my herbs and spices go I find it works well, but it may not be the best organization solution for you as you don't really see the names on the spices.

Photo by Lou16
Check out my image to see what I mean.  Now this is fine by me because I keep my herbs and spices in alphabetical order except for the the larger containers which aren't showing (they're to the right if I had a better photo to show you).

If that sounds a little OCD - it's not, I just worked retail for a decade and in my mind alphabetical for herbs is the way to go!

I also know exactly what herbs and spices I have - someone coming into my kitchen may have problems using my organizer, but you know what?  I don't care, I just want to have it organized for me (and my husband as he's a great cook)!

I have a few other problem areas that need to be organized and I'm working on them.   I need to organize my cake decorating stuff - I have an idea on how to do that so stay tuned!

Another problem area is all of the bulk foods that I have especially since my daughter turned vegan.  I also think I have a solution for this problem too so there will definitely be a follow up post on organizing your kitchen cupboards.

Do you use anything special to organize your pantry?

One thing that my entire home lacks is enough storage so I've tried lots of different ways to keeping things organized, I hope to share more with you in the future.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Wild and Funky 3D Tablecloths for Special Occasions

Lively Red Roses 3D Tablecloth Found Here
Believe it or not, tablecloths are not only practical, they can also add art to a themed party or gathering.

It's the 3D design on these tablecloths that make them outstanding ... literally, outstanding.

Although only three are featured, you can check out a wide selection of them here.

You'll find one for just about any party or occasion. Better yet, feature them all year round to add an element of funk to your space.

They're made of a high quality polyester and are water resistant. Their durability prevents pilling and fading.

Big 3D Roses Tablecloth for Valentines Day

If you're planning a special dinner for Valentines Day, decorate the table with this spectacular 3D roses tablecloth.

The visual impact is powerful and is sure to provide a little shock and awe for your guest. There are eight size options as well, so you're sure to find the right one for your table set.
Awesome 3D Soccer Tablecloth - Found here

Impressive 3D Soccer Tablecloth for Themed Parties

If you're hosting a Soccer themed party include one or more of these tablecloths to punch up the space. Use them inside or outside or hang them on the wall as art if needed.

They also make an original hostess gift. Bring one to the party and it'll surely be a hit with the guests. The unique 3D artistic design will probably become the conversation piece of the party.

Sports team organizers could also include these tablecloths for special team events.

They also make an excellent gift idea for the coach. If you need a special gift for that dedicate teacher in your life, these tablecloths quality.
Purple Blossoms 3D Tablecloth Here

Cheerful Spring Time Garden Flowers for Garden Parties

Whether you simply want to brighten up a sunroom or plan to decorate multiple tables for your garden party, this tablecloth does both.

It's uniqueness makes it perfect for bridal showers as well. Whether your party is indoors or outdoors, this tablecloth can be included. You're in luck if the bride's colors happen to be pink or purple!

Again, put it up on the wall as art, give them as gifts or just use them for their intended purpose.

Once you visit the links under the photos it will take you to the product page and you'll be given the pricing, sizing and other details. Be sure to inspect the related products at the bottom of the product page in case you're needing an alternate design for your tablecloth. There are many to choose from ... other than these three. Look for the holiday season tablecloths, they're pretty cool as well.

Happy decorating!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Unconventional Christmas Decor to Serve Your Inner Wackiness

You're not conventional. Everybody knows that about you. So don't disappoint them, go ahead and add these three odd-ball Christmas décor items this holiday season.

Elf Leg Covers for Your Chairs or End Tables

If your goal is hearing your guests let out a belly laugh when they see what crazy décor idea you've come up with, then Elf Leg Covers should do the trick.

The set comes with four leg covers - enough to do one chair. However, they're not expensive so budget permitting, get enough to do several chairs.

If the budget allows for only one set, then you could plan to use them on a hallway end-table or an end-table that's clearly visible in a room.

When a Full Blown Santa Suit isn't in the Cards, Greet Your
A Santa Sweatshirt for the Hostess
Guests Wearing a Santa Sweatshirt


If two of you are hosting a Christmas gathering or party, greet your guests wearing these festive borderline ugly sweaters. They don't qualify as full blown ugly because, after all, they do honor the big guy.

You won't have a problem finding your size, as they range from Small to Triple X.

This sweater is a standard pullover with a round neck and cotton liner. Also, there are two convenient pockets on the side. Double check the size chart because sometimes it's better to order a size up.

A Santa Sweatshirt also makes an excellent hostess gift. It's original, funny and best of all, useful for the season.

Decorate the Toilet - Show Off Your Goofy Side
Turn the Toilet into a Snowman

Why not? Go ahead. When else do you get to decorate the toilet? Go full-on-tacky with your washroom décor. Forget classy, go for the laugh.

This funny snowman toilet accessory is just what's needed when your guests open the washroom door to do their business - snowman eyes looking right at them. A relaxed bathroom-goer is a happy bathroom-goer.

Less tension, more smiles helps to ensure everything comes out ok.

The set comes as seen in the photo: With the mat, the toilet seat cover and the tank cover. It doesn't list washing instructions, but if it were me, after the party's over, I would wash on delicate and hang to dry.

Have fun, get silly for the season!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 26, 2017

3 Kooky Affordable Rugs You Can Give as a Gift

Original gifts come in all shapes and sizes. If you've been looking for a creative gift idea, rugs make an excellent choice.

An area rug can be used in any part of the home or office and are generally items that people look upon as a perk, or something they never get around to buying for themselves.

Accessories complete the look of a room, and rugs make a huge contribution. Although the rugs featured here are not overly large, each offers something fun.

A Hopscotch Area Rug

In reviewing area rugs, the first crucial consideration is to determine if it blends into the décor of the room you're buying it for. If it's a gift, you'll want to be sure there's an appropriate space for it, and also have a sense of whether the colors blend with the recipient's home décor.

Give a hopscotch rug to a child as a gift. It will add to their room's décor and provide physical fun at the same time. The featured hopscotch rug is made of durable nylon and measures about 70cm (27.5 inches) by 140cm (55.11 inches).

A Rug Featuring a Funny Quote

Does someone in your life enjoy quips, jokes or one-liners? Consider this cheeky quote rug if they do. People who like to wear t-shirts with 'words' on them may appreciate this functional home décor accessory that doubles as a conversation piece.

You can be sure that very few people would consider giving this goofy but pretty rug as a gift, thus making you the original sort they always thought you were.

If you're certain a quote rug would be well received, they also make a funny and useful Housewarming Gift. Best of all, the quote rug featured here is quite affordable with a price under fifty dollars at the time of writing.

A Lemon Lime Rug - For Real

You'll probably generate a belly laugh from the recipient of this kooky gift. It's different, but ideal for several areas in the home; the porch, a sunroom, a citrus themed space, a child's room, a playroom and of course, the kitchen.

At the time of writing, this lemon rug is under thirty-five dollars. It's affordability also makes it an excellent gift choice.

Be creative with a round funky rug when you have to decorate a large space in your own home. Get three or four lemon lime rugs and position them all over the room. Put them under end-tables, a coffee table, or in front of chairs.

When the theme of your space screams bright, open, airy, and crisp, a citrus rug is ideal.

All three of these funky rugs are under fifty dollars at the time of writing, making them an excellent choice for budget gift giving.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Three Funky Tatami Floor Seats - Check these Out

More Info on the Lazy Mouse Tatami Sofa Seat Here
Tatami floor seats are a type of Floor Mat used in Japanese style rooms.

Of course today's Tatami seats aren't like the traditional ones made of rice straw or wood chips.

These funky seating choices have expanded into artsy designs and styles and are mostly made of foam materials.

If you're looking to for a unique gift, Tatami floor seats can be quite affordable. The smaller funky seats are lower in price than the featured  soft cute lazy mouse bed.

When you click the link below the photos you'll get additional product detail including the price.

Lazy Mouse Tatami Sofa Seat

This comfy squeezable bed is made of foam and velvet. It's the perfect spot to read a book with the kids or to snuggle up and watch a family movie.

Put one in the family room for the kids and have it available as an alternative sleeping spot for company. Use it as an extra bed when the kids have party sleepovers.

The Tatami sofa seat is more expensive than a chair floor seat so it makes for an elaborate but very useable gift.
Tatami Chair Seat Found Here - Multiple Color Choices

Soft Handrail Tatami Chair Seat

If price and space are equally an issue, be sure to check out the price of this funky Tatami chair. It comes in six color choices and at the time of typing this, is under fifty dollars.

For a girls room or in a games room, these floor chairs are ideal for reading or gaming. If a full-blown gaming chair isn't in the cards, then these make a practical substitute.

You can also use them on a chair as a chair pad. Their dual purpose makes them a practical home décor accessory.

Tatami Funky Toast Chair - More Info Here
Funky Tatami Toast Seat

You're reading that correctly - It's a Tatami seat that looks like two pieces of toast.

When a regular gift just won't cut it, but something usable and practical is needed, this funky chair works.

These fun seats make an excellent addition to a media room. When regular extra seating is just too expensive, include a few of these on the floor and you'll have your problem affordably solved.

Best of all, they're portable. Move them from room to room as you need too and always have an extra comfy seat to offer company.

The cover of this seat is polyester, removable and washable so don't hesitate to use it whenever needed. Again, it makes an excellent gaming seat or just let the little ones watch their cartoons as they relax on a piece of toast.

Happy funky decorating!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 29, 2017

Three Affordable Holiday Accessories to Deck Out Your Christmas Dinner Table

Get Set of 8 Santa Hat Chair Covers Here
Get a jump on the Christmas Holiday season by having all the little things addressed early.

Too often we leave those small decorative items we've always wanted until the last minute then think, 'nah', maybe next year.

Don't do that this year. Life is short.

Christmas Chair Covers

Chair covers make a lovely addition to a Christmas table setting; when you're aiming for a red-green table setting, they complete the festive look and feel.

They're not a one trick pony: Chair covers can also be used for home Christmas parties or even holiday birthdays.

Featured in the photo are a set of 8 Santa Claus Hat Chair Covers. You'll be surprised by how affordable they are. Get a jump on your holiday plans. Generally you'll want to allow 3 to 7 days for order processing and 2 to 8 days for shipping. Start today and you'll have plenty of time.

Christmas Silverware Stockings
Stocking Stuffed for Dinner Display - Get them Here


Imagine each place setting graced with a funky Christmas stocking stuffed with silverware.

When you visit the link on the featured photo you'll see that two stocking sets are included. They indicate that a knife and fork and stocking come with each one. Although the photo does show a spoon, the description doesn't mention one.

Also, you can easily DIY this idea. Simply use a small stocking from other décor items you've collected, or make them. Place your silverware inside and you're done.

Use this idea to hold dinner cutlery for buffets. Place your silverware inside and tie a Christmas ribbon around it if the stocking is too loose to keep it held in place. Display them on your buffet to enhance your holiday presentation.

Wine Bottle Sleeves Here
Holiday Wine Bottle Cover Decorations

Accessorize the table with these funky Santa and Snowman wine bottle sleeves. Place them anywhere the wine is on display. Use them and re-use them as need be during the holiday season; they'll add whimsy to your holiday party.

Give them out as a Hostess or holiday gifts. When bagging or wrapping a bottle of wine isn't your thing, these decorations do the job.

If you're hosting a non-alcoholic dinner, place these around other bottles on the table, and when dinner is done, hand them out to the kids.

Theses type of accessories serve multiple purposes. Collect a variety of whimsical decorations so they're handy for additional table décor, or to have available as occasional gifts to hand out during the holidays.

Note that when you visit the link under the photo, additional information will be provided, including the price. These wine bottle sleeves don't come as a pair, you'll have to order each separately.

Get planning, the Holidays are around the corner - beat the rush this year!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 22, 2017

3 Ways to Increase Sleeping Space when You Have Company

Full Over Full Bunk Beds to Maximize Space
With the holiday season approaching, making room for company can sometimes be a challenge.

If you're looking for practical ways to either increase sleeping space or provide privacy in open areas, here are three product reviews to solve that problem.

Double Bed Bunk Beds

That's right, there is such a thing as full sized beds as bunk beds. Full sized bunk beds provide double the space for kids. They're great for couples with kids, or just as a place for all the children to bunk together.

Two double beds stacked on top of each solve major space issues. With limited space you can provide sleeping arrangements for four people. Again, if you have a young family visiting, sleeping is solved with approximately six feet by seven feet of floor area for the bed itself.

Join Two Single Beds Together to Make a King Sized Bed
Use a Twin Bed Connector to Convert to a King


If all you have are twin beds in a spare room, there's a way to turn two twin beds into a king size bed.

Pushing the twin beds together is not enough: The dip in the middle makes two mattresses abutted against each other difficult to sleep in. That's where a twin-bed-connector comes into play.

With a connector you can remove that dip in the middle as well as secure the mattresses so they don't slip. You can read more about how to do this here.
Find Canopy Tents Here

Put a Canopy Tent Over a Single Bed in an Open Area

If you have an open area in the home with several twin beds (like a dorm room) you can add a Canopy Tent over each of them to give people their own private area without the need for dividers or walls.

They're easy to put up and of course just as easy to remove.

They're also ideal for kids who share a room. It provides privacy without having to go to the expense of redecorating or giving each child their separate room.

Of course, these items work all year around. Plan ahead, and you'll be all set for the holidays.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Three Easy Ways to Bring the Fall Season Inside Your Home

You'll Want to See These Fall Duvet Sets!
Without giving it a second thought, when we decorate for a new season our tendency is to add ornaments, lights and maybe a flower grouping or two.

However, if you're especially feeling the need for a seasonal change, dive right in with these three simple reviewed décor tips:

1. Easily Change Your Bedding to an Autumn Themed Design

You'll be surprised how easy and affordable it is to interchange your bedding.

Duvet covers make easy bedding changes possible.

The best part of a duvet is your ability to simply put it over your existing comforter and remove it when Fall is over. At that point, put on your winter themed duvet, or go back to your original set.

It's simple, affordable, and you can collect several duvets that reflect all four seasons; Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer.

This small change can scratch your redecorating itch and prevent you from spending too much on a renovation or new furniture.

2. Change Your Draperies for Autumn
Check Out These Gorgeous Fall Drapes


If you've never seen these gorgeous Fall Drape designs, you're missing out. They come in simple branch and leaf art, as well as full three dimensional scenery art.

Contrary to what most people think, changing out your drapes is not a difficult thing to do. Simply use the type of drapes that go with your existing drapery rod.

If you're able to plan ahead, the easiest style of drapes to interchange are curtains made with built-in rings. Any normal rounded curtain rod will work with these drapes. They're also easy to open and close.

You'll Find Some Funky Throws Here
Halloween Throw Blankets for the Fall Season\

Halloween Throw Blankets don't have to be skulls, ghosts and ghouls, in fact many of the designs you'll find are pumpkins, leaves, bright orange in color, and cartoon sketches.

Halloween Throw Blankets let you add a touch of whimsy to an otherwise dull or neutral space. Put up your drapes, add a Halloween throw blanket over the side of a chair or ottoman and finish off the look by putting Halloween Pillow slip covers over your existing cushions.

When the season has run it's course, remove it all 'til the season rolls around again.

Don't spend a fortunate, simply punch up the room the easy way.

Enjoy the Fall - Here's a Relaxing Video Featuring Lovely Homes Surrounded by the Glorious Colors of Fall





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.